May wrap-up!

The end of another month has come and gone, which means it’s time for another wrap-up! May was definitely a better reading month than April and March, though I’m still not entirely out of the reading slump yet.

Still, I do need to thank my good friend from over at Samen Helen for making me read A Thousand Splendid Suns when I didn’t feel like anything at all. It put me way back on track. Thanks!

Over the course of May I somehow managed to read 7 books, which might actually be a new record! I do probably need to add here though, that there were at least 2 books that I finished in about 2 hours, and a couple of books that I’d put on hold previously and was actually about halfway through already.

It’s also a fairly culturally diverse list, with the US, the UK, the Netherlands, Iceland and Afghanistan represented. 4 out of 7 books have been written by women, although unfortunately there’s no LGBTQ representation whatsoever.

Overall, everything considered, I’m pretty happy with this reading month, and I can’t wait to see what June is going to bring!

But for now, let’s see what I read in May:

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs, 4/5 stars) 
The first installment to what I refer to as the “miss peregrine books”. I raced through it, and although it didn’t grip me 100% it was still a very fun and interesting read. Book #2 is currently on its way to me, so I definitely liked it enough to continue the series!

2. Frankenstein – 1818 text (Mary Shelley, 3/5 stars)
I’ll readily admit this book took me much longer than I anticipated. I actually put it on hold for a while when I was almost halfway through – turned out I was mere pages away from where it got interesting, and once I picked it back up I got through it relatively quickly. It’s an alright book, I guess. An interesting story, though not quite enough to really keep me engaged and focused.

3. Nemesis (Agatha Christie, 2/5 stars) 
The 5th Christie book I’ve read, and unfortunately also the least interesting one. Still alright, but also predictable and slow to start.

4. Nooit de Buren Bijten (Paul van Loon, 4/5 stars) 
A Dutch children’s book I still remembered from my own childhood (the main reason I bought it). It’s still super funny, even as an adult. I know now where some of my weird humour has come from! (I was an avid Paul van Loon reader as a child.) I don’t know if there’s an English translation available of this one, but if there is I definitely recommend it.

5. A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini, 5/5 stars)
Gosh, what a beautiful, heartbreaking book. I read the whole thing in about 3 days, hardly putting it down. Beautifully written, not at all what I expected it to be like but surprising in the best way.

6. Boven in de Stad (Liedewij Loorbach, 2/5 stars) 
A simple Dutch non-fiction book I picked up at a discount, about gardening for millennials who live in cities and have limited space and knowledge. Quirky writing and interesting design can’t save it from being essentially redundant. Trying to reach a digital generation by publishing the most basic of basic information in paper is a missed chance at something that could’ve been interesting if the information had had a different angle. Alas.

7. Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, 2/5 stars)
The story of the last woman in Iceland to get death penalty. It was heralded as a brilliant and beautiful book, though I feel like I might’ve read a different book after all. The one I read was gloomy, slow, predictable, and not very interesting. Not sure if I’m even going to keep it on my shelves, to be honest.

This entry was posted in book talk, books, reading challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

