First 20 books of 2016

2016 books first 20

Despite still working my way out of a reading & writing slump, I have somehow managed to finish some books as of late. As such, I just reached the 20th book and decided to celebrate by writing a little blogpost about it!

I do feel like I’ve learned a lot already this year, and like these books have helped me become a slightly more well-rounded person. It’s a colourful, diverse bunch with classics, YA, children’s, non-fiction, murder mystery, contemporary LGBT, Japanese, Dutch, French, Ancient Greek, you name it.  I’m an eclectic reader, and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Still, when I look back on this list there are definitely books I’m proud of having read, yet nothing really jumps out as extraordinary. I have no new favourites, no books that immediately come to mind like last year’s The Song of Achilles or The Martian. Sure, I really loved The Count of Monte Cristo, but I had to force myself through parts of it as well.

Who knows, maybe in the next 20 books there will be something more special. Better get on with reading and find out!

So here’s a list of all 20 books so far, and a link to my review of them if there is one! I know I’m perpetually behind on writing reviews, but hey, as long as I write something every now and then, right? Right.

1. Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell 
2. Iliad, by Homer
3. A Wild Swan, by Michael Cunningham 
4. Mary Poppins, by P.L. Travers 
5. The Theban Plays, by Sophocles 
6. Halloween Rain (Buffy the Vampire Slayer), by Christopher Golden & Nancy Holder
7. Under the Never Sky, by Veronica Rossi 
8. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, by Yuval Noah Harari
9. Ha/bah naar school, by Jacques Vriens 
10. The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexandre Dumas

11. Percy Jackson & the Titan’s Curse, by Rick Riordan
12. And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie 
13. The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Danforth
14. The Gospel of Loki, by Joanne M. Harris
15. Broer, by Esther Gerritsen
16. Kitchen, by Banana Yoshimoto
17. The Untold History of Ramen, by George Solt
18. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs
19. Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley
20. Nemesis, by Agatha Christie

This entry was posted in book talk, books, reading challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

