March reading wrap-up!

I hit a reading slump.

I still read some things this month! Just comparatively little, is all. And I have especially not been reading for the past two weeks or so. Explanations, quick book reviews, and probably way too many exclamation marks beneath the link!

1. The Miseducation of Cameron Post (by Emily M. Danforth)

The first book I read this month came straight after a brilliant reading weekend with Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, Percy Jackson, and The Count of Monte Cristo. Suffice to say, my expectations were high, I was on a roll, and I started The Miseducation of Cameron Post with a vigour that was almost aggressive. In hindsight (always 20/20, after all), this was probably where my reading slump started.

I gave this book 4 stars, because it was objectively good! I enjoyed it! I could see the literary merit, and it was interesting! It focused on a lesbian character! I’m also wondering if I should downgrade to 3 stars, because in all honesty I don’t think I enjoyed it quite as much as I maybe thought I should.

2. The Gospel of Loki (by Joanne M. Harris)

After getting confused by my own opinion about Cameron Post, I picked up The Gospel of Loki, after a lot of books tried and put away (bad sign! abort! abort!). But here, I couldn’t deceive myself anymore: I was not really enjoying this book. It was good enough for me to warrant finishing it, but now? Meh. Just meh. It didn’t grip me, the characters felt very flat, Loki (for a trickster) was mostly very cranky and talking about revenge without really taking any.

3. Broer (by Esther Gerritsen)

By now, I was changing books like a madman. Nothing worked. Nothing stuck with me. But then two things happened: it was my nephew’s birthday soon, and in the Netherlands the ‘boekenweek’ (book week) started. Now, with the boekenweek, if you buy a book at a bookstore, you get a little novella for free. It’s a specific one, everyone gets the same one, it’s published especially for the occasion. This book also works as a train ticket (free traveling in the entire country!) on a specific day. This happened to coincide with the party for my nephew’s birthday, so off I went, by train, with this book in my bag (and two others, just in case. Broer is tiny, alright. It’s less than 100 pages. It’s also slightly more interesting than the other two free boekenweek books I’ve read, but really only slightly. It’s otherwise entirely forgettable, and if I was ever tempted to buy more of Esther Gerritsen’s books, that temptation has now left me entirely.

As for the reading slump? At the moment, I can barely focus for more than 2 or 3 pages, and I don’t feel like picking up anything on my TBR. Instead, I’m just watching a lot of YouTube and Netflix, which is also fine! But I don’t expect my April wrap-up to be much longer than this one. Although, only time will tell.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

