February wrap-up

Another month has passed, so it’s time for another wrap-up! Although February was a very short month (even with the bonus day), I still managed to finish 6 books. And even while factoring that I started one of these in January, this still adds up to more than a 1000 pages, which I think is really very good indeed.

But not only that, it was actually a good reading month overall. Out of these 6 books, there are 2 that I gave a 4-star rating and even one with a 5-star rating! I’m a very happy booknerd indeed.

Now without further ado, here’s what I read in February:

#1 Under the Never Sky (Veronica Rossi)
(review: EnglishDutch)
I mean, it was alright? A fun, quick read, nothing too special. Quite predictable in its ways, but nice in its predictability.

#2 Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind (Yuval Noah Harari) 
(review)
Let this review suffice, with the added knowledge that I dropped the book off at the charity shop today with no second thought about it.

#3 Ha/bah naar school (Jacques Vriens) 
(review)
A childhood relic that I’d totally forgotten about, but was very happy to rediscover. An enjoyable read with some surprising content. Definitely did not see the discussions on tolerance coming, but I’m glad they were there.

#4 The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas) 
Oh, what a ride. From a thrilling start to a confusing part where I wondered where it was all leading, to a part where I slowly started seeing things come together, and on to an even more thrilling end. What a satisfying read, if a very long one. Probably the longest book I’ve ever read, and boy am I glad I did.

#5 Percy Jackson & the Titan’s Curse (Rick Riordan) 
The third installment of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, and things are getting more interesting! I enjoyed this one more than the first two, and am definitely looking forward to the next parts.

#6 And Then There Were None (Agatha Christie)
My first 5-star rating of the year. What. A. Book. I just, wow. I can tell why it’s voted the world’s favourite Christie. This is the best kind of mystery, give me stories like this anytime.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February wrap-up

  1. magalys @ the bookbrat says:

    I own Monte Cristo and I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

