First 10 books of 2016: a round-up

Last night, I finished reading The Count of Monte Cristo (yes, all 875 pages!). With finishing that, I have reached the first 10 books of the year, which I think warrants the first round-up as well!

All in all, I have read approximately 3500 pages, so that’s 350 pages on average per book. Pretty decent, if I may say so myself! I’m really happy with this progress so far! I’m also very happy with the variety. From ancient Greek classics to 19th century French classic to modern YA to Dutch children’s stories to non-fiction. It’s definitely a diverse list in terms of genres. Unfortunately, it’s not very diverse in terms of gender and sexuality, with only 3 female writers and only one LGBTQ+ book.

What I’m also less happy about is the ratings. There have been some books I enjoyed more than others, but there isn’t a 5-star-read yet. Everything’s been mostly ‘meh’, or it had its good moments (and only that, moments).

Here are the books so far, in the order in which I read them! I know not all of them have reviews yet, but the last two in this list will be coming up in the next couple of weeks, so keep an eye out for those.

Oh, and I’m probably joining a readathon next week, which means the list of the next 10 books shouldn’t take too long either!

1. Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell (3/5 stars)
2. The Iliad, by Homer (2/5 stars)
3. A Wild Swan: And Other Tales, by Michael Cunningham (2/5 stars)
4. Mary Poppins, by PL Travers (3/5 stars)
5. The Theban Plays: Oedipus Rex, Oedipus at Colonus, & Antigone, by Sophocles (3/5 stars)
6. Halloween Rain (Buffy the Vampire Slayer), by Christopher Golden (3/5 stars)
7. Under the Never Sky, by Veronica Rossi (3/5 stars)
ENGLISHDUTCH
8. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, by Yuval Noah Harari (3/5 stars)
9. Ha/Bah naar School, by Jacques Vriens (4/5 stars)
10. The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexandre Dumas (4/5 stars)

This entry was posted in book talk, books, masterpost and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

