Pirates & Rebels & Other Outliers

Last week, I’ve started watching Black Sails on Netflix. The series is sort of a prequel to the Treasure Island story by Robert Louis Stevenson. This means: pirates. I definitely do like me some pirates. Yet strangely, I haven’t read many books about pirates. Still, pirates are rebels, and we all like a good rebel, right? So I thought I’d recommend you some good books about rebels from all walks of life!

This one goes out to all the people with a blatant disregard for authority. (I’m not one of you, I’m a rule-follower to a fault, but I definitely appreciate your stories.)

Capture-of-Blackbeard

1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
Gotta start with the obvious one, right? This classic has served as inspiration for pirate stories for a long time, and rightly so. It took me a couple of tries to really get started, but in the end it was a good read. I gave it 3/5 stars, and should probably reread this sometime soon. Plus, I mean: pirates. Actual pirates.

newugliesUKcovers

2. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld 
“Oh look, another dystopian Young Adult with a spunky heroine and a ~cool~ love interest and a questionable government” I hear you say. “No, please, read this brilliant commentary on our ever-increasing obsession with beauty, body modification, plastic surgery and control over literally everything. PLEASE.” As long as you ignore the 4th book, that is. Extras doesn’t exist. Trust me.

20829029

3. The Martian by Andy Weir
SPACE PIRATE MARK WATNEY. That’s all. Okay, so maybe this isn’t technically about a rebel but about a survivor, but it’s still a very good story and Watney definitely has a lot of rebellious streaks.

1984first

4. 1984 by George Orwell 
Not just a great prediction of the surveillance state (that we’re still diving into headfirst), but also just a really interesting and captivating story. There’s a reason other than “great political commentary” that made this book a famous classic, and that reason is not that it spawned the real-life series of Big Brother. It’s genuinely a good story about a rebel within a controlled mega-state. But also, yes, it will definitely make you look differently at a show like Big Brother.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

