Book review:Under the Never Sky (by Veronica Rossi)

Title: Under the Never Sky
Series: Under the Never Sky
Author: Veronica Rossi
Page count: 320 pages (Dutch paperback edition)
Rating: 3/5 stars

10756656


Goodreads summary:

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered.

This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland–known as The Death Shop–are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild–a savage–and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile–everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

I got this book for my birthday from a very dear friend, who somehow managed to get me a book I’d never heard of before. This isn’t necessarily an unheard of thing, but it doesn’t happen often. She also gave me the book in Dutch, which is also something I’m not used to. I read almost exclusively in English, so suffice to say this was an ~experience~. (I get a reminder every time again of why I don’t like reading in Dutch, but that’s a different story for a different blogpost).

I decided to read this book as a weekendread, and as a break from the Count of Monte Cristo. I like to switch between difficult & lengthy books,  and easy-to-digest quick reads. And this was definitely a quick, easy read!

Under the Never Sky is, in all honesty, a fairly standard Young Adult. It seems to follow almost a standard format for (post)-apocalyptic YA books, with the tough heroine who is Different, the cool, silent love interest, and almost literally every other YA trope you can think of. It’s not a particularly challenging or intelligent book.

Still, sometimes it’s nice to just read something super easy and predictable, as a nice change from the more challenging works I tend to read. Even if this book survives on cliches, I enjoyed it enough to probably pick up the next part sometime soon. Besides, the awkward-teenage-conversations-about-sex were just downright hilarious.

The story itself, again, is essentially a long list of cliches tied together. I’m trying not to spoil anything plot-centric, but basically, if you’re reading this and you think ‘oh, this and this is probably going to happen next’, I can almost guarantee you that it will.

If you pick up this book, don’t expect a masterpiece. Don’t expect the next Hunger Games, or (since it has a more similar story) the next Uglies series. But it’s fun in its own right, and if you’re into these kinds of YA stories and don’t mind reading the same story over and over*, then this book is for you!

For me, it was mostly a fun weekend read, and a series I do intent on finishing at some point. And who knows! Maybe I’ll enjoy it more when I read it in English.

*I would like to make sure that people know there’s nothing wrong with enjoying a specific type of story! I’m not used to it myself, but I know plenty of people who will happily read the same kinds of love stories or the same kinds of epic fantasy or, indeed, the same kinds of post-apocalyptic YA. Do your thing, and all that.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book review:Under the Never Sky (by Veronica Rossi)

  1. Pingback: Dutch Day: Boek review van Een Wereld Zonder Hemel (Veronica Rossi) | Charlotte Blogs

  2. Pingback: First 10 books of 2016: a round-up | Charlotte Blogs

  3. Pingback: February wrap-up | Charlotte Blogs

  4. Pingback: First 20 books of 2016 | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

