Romantic Valentine movies: Deadpool…??? (A Review)

landscape-1452594620-deadpool-romcom-banner

Usually, around Valentine’s we get sappy, cheesy or downright terrible movies in the cinemas.

Obviously, 2016 is the best year ever, since this time? There’s Deadpool.

I actually went to see Deadpool all by myself last Thursday. I’ve known about the movie for a while now, and I’ve enjoyed the (frankly insane) marketing campaign. But to be honest, I was a bit unsure about the movie itself. I’m just not that good usually with a lot of sex and fart jokes, and it was obvious from the start that this movie would be all about sex  (and the occasional fart joke). In a way, it felt kind of like it would be a typical ‘dudebro’ movie, if you know what I mean? I wasn’t sure what I was really going to think of it, and even more unsure of what kind of audience I was surrounding myself with.

I needn’t have worried.

This movie was just so much fun. I spent most of the movie laughing, it was so hilarious. Turns out all the jokes were done so well, they matched my sense of humour perfectly.

I’m a bit worried this movie has now ruined other superhero movies for me though. I’m looking forward to Captain America: Civil War a lot, but after Deadpool? Aw man, I just don’t know anymore. How am I supposed to take that movie seriously now? Now that I keep expecting crude comments and casual 4th wall breaking?

deadpool-DMC_2670_v068_matte.1045_rgb.0.0

Actually, I’m not sure I mind. I mean, sure, it would be a definite improvement to the genre if we could just get Wade commenting from the background. Should we start a petition? Then again, maybe this movie is so fun and refreshing exactly because it’s not like the other movies. It’s so different to see a superhuman not use his powers for the best of humanity, or to beat the bad guys, but for an entirely personal reason. Deadpool couldn’t care less about the potential end of the world, he doesn’t have the attention span to think about what’s right or wrong, he just wants something done.

To be honest, I’m not actually sure what to say about this movie that hasn’t been said yet. It’s already been proclaimed as badass, as game-changing, a must-watch. It’s even already been reviewed as romantic (as even explained within the movie). Just go watch it, take your boyfriend/girlfriend/other-romantic-interest, and just have fun. Erm. By watching the movie, I mean. Leave the real fun part of the date for when you’re home.

But in short: I love this movie. Absolutely love it. I would go to see it again, were it not for the fact that I’m kind of broke right now. So go watch it, and then come back here so we can talk about how awesome this movie is.

Oh, and as a warning: this movie will make 100% sure you can’t say anything or hear any 80’s song without immediately assuming innuendo. Thanks, Deadpool.

deadpool1-gallery-image

This entry was posted in film talk, marvel, movie talk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

