Book review: Halloween Rain (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

Title: Halloween Rain
Author: Christopher Golden & Nancy Holder
Page count: 160 pages
Rating: 3/5 stars

 

293476

Goodreads summary:

Around Sunnydale, they say a scarecrow saturated with Halloween rain will come alive and slaughter anyone in sight. (Lovely place, Sunnydale.) Buffy’s best friends, Xander and Willow, used to think the tale was nonsense – but after a few adventures with Buffy, they’re not so sure.

Even without a maniacal scarecrow, a Sunnydale Halloween is a truly horrific happening. There are enough zombies and vampires about, ready to party hearty and eat some brains, to keep the Slayer and her friends up all night.

And then the rain starts to fall…

Being a 90’s kid, Buffy was part of my childhood. I grew up with the series, and will always have a weak spot for it. So when I came across this little book – for free! – of course I had to bring it.

And it was definitely a fun read! It was a great tiny weekend read, easy to finish quickly with just 160 pages.

Of course, it could’ve been better. I could talk about how it was a bit too much snark and not enough action, or about how the vampires suddenly seemed to just disappear and became an instant non-problem. But I’d be foolish to hold a booklet based on a tv-show to literary standards. It was fine. It was fun. For a book I literally got for free I’m not going to complain. Besides, I really enjoyed all the 90’s American teenager slang, especially as a non-American who wasn’t a teenager in the 90’s. That was pretty amazing.

If I ever happen to come across more of these little books, I’ll definitely take them with me. Although I’m not particularly willing to make an actual effort, it’s something I will keep in the back of my mind as a Thing I enjoy.

I recommend this little book for a rainy day or a Sunday if you happen to have it lying around or come across it. I wouldn’t go through too much effort for it, but it’s definitely a fun little read, especially if you’re a fan of the show.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book review: Halloween Rain (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

  1. Pingback: First 10 books of 2016: a round-up | Charlotte Blogs

  2. Pingback: First 20 books of 2016 | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

