Top 10 books of 2015

The blogpost you have all been waiting for..

My favourite books of the year! I mean, I’m going to be real here: you all probably already which books were my definite favourites of the year, since I have mentioned them countless times since reading them. But in the spirit of finally moving the fuck on, I’m just going to list them here one more time, and then, move the fuck on.

Here we go! My top 10 favourite books, with the ultimate top 3 in a specific order, and the other 7 in random order.

10. Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley
9. The entire Harry Potter series, by JK Rowling
8. An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth, by Chris Hadfield
7. Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh
6. The Day of the Triffids, by John Wyndham
5. The His Dark Materials trilogy, by Philip Pullman
4. Everything Leads to You, by Nina Lacour

The top 3 of this year, in specific order:

IMAG0370

3. Murder at the Vicarage, by Agatha Christie

This was the first Agatha Christie I’d ever read, and oh how I enjoyed this book. The suspense is perfect, you’re kept on the edge of your seat wondering who did it, and the end is a total surprise (to me, at least). The very definition of a good detective novel, and one I would highly recommend. Just be warned that this one really ups your expectations in crime novels, and a lot of them will turn out really disappointing after this one.

20829029

2. The Martian, by Andy Weir

A bit of an unexpected love, though in hindsight I can’t think of a single reason why I wouldn’t like this: a survival story, about an astronaut, on Mars. With lots of sarcasm and snarky humour to boot! I couldn’t not love it, really.

And now, drumroll please! My ultimate favourite book of 2015, is (obviously):

13516154 (1)
1. The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller

My boys, my poor ancient Greek gay boys. Oh how my heart still cries at your sorrows and oh how it soars at your joy.

No but really, this book blew me away. I bought it mostly because “ancient Greece” and “LGBTQ+” together intrigued me, and I’m forever glad I did. This book triggered my interest in ancient Greece, this book triggered all kinds of Feels, and even half a year later I’m still recommending it to anyone unfortunate enough to come within speaking distance from me. I’m still looking for people who want to cry with me over this piece of perfection. So if you’re up for that, let me know.

And I promise to at the very least TRY to mention some other books in 2016.

This entry was posted in book talk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

