Top 5 movies of 2015

With the end of the year coming closer and closer, it’s time to start doing some roundups. And today, I’m going to start with movies.

I’m going to be honest here: it hasn’t been a super great movie year for me. I’m currently at 68 movies in total, of which only 6 I’ve seen at the cinema. That’s roughly one movie every 5 or so days, which, to be honest, is kind of pathetic for me.

I’ve been unlucky in that I live in a rural area with only very few trains, and that the cinema I go to somehow figures no one from outside the city wants to come visit by public transport, ever. As such, movie time schedules are horrendous, and I miss out on a lot.

Still, I’m sure I can pick movies that were my personal top 5 of the year!  I did try to pick movies I saw for the first time this year, which was surprisingly difficult with the sheer amount of movies I’ve seen several times! Which is, coincidentally, also why this is a top 5 instead of the more normal top 10. I just simply couldn’t make it to 10 favourite movies without listing movies I’ve talked about countless times before.

Also let me know which movies you really enjoyed this year!

This top 5 is not in any particular order, by the way.

The Martian 

At the beginning of the year, I didn’t know about the existence of the book or the movie. Now, at the end of the year, I wonder how I could have ever missed them and realize what a formative experience they both were.

The movie, while not super great in itself, is a great introduction to the book, which you should all read as quickly as possible anyway. Really, it’s that good.

Crimson Peak 


This one was a bit of a surprise for me. I’d heard about this movie for ages, but I was never really interested until very shortly before it came out. I kind of thought “oh what the hell, let’s just go and watch it, it’s being shown at a time that’s actually convenient for me”. And boy am I glad I did so. What a beautiful movie. What a beautiful, astounding and human story. The visuals are amazing, the acting is superb, and I’m very glad I went to see it in the cinema to enjoy it in all its glory on the big screen.

Jurassic World

I mean. Come on. What else do you expect me to say but the following words:

  • dinosaurs
  • Chris Pratt
  • action flick
  • DINOSAURS

I love it. I know this film was critically received as “what the hell is this”, “why is she running in high heels”, but personally I loved it. It had its bad parts, yes, there were definitely things that annoyed/bothered me, but overall it’s just a fun action movie with giant reptiles and a guy on a motorcycle. Good fun.

Inkheart 

I know, I know, it’s an older movie, but did you consider this: books coming to life.

Did I convince you yet? No? Just watch the trailer, and trust my word that it’s a really fun movie.

Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day 

Again, an older movie, but I’d never seen it before, and it doesn’t seem to be very well known. Which is a shame, because it’s a very fun movie and I really enjoyed watching it. Also Lee Pace looks magnificent so, that helps. But there’s also girl friendship, women supporting women, 40’s fashion and music, and every now and then the realization that the entire movie is supposed to happen in one single day. Miss Pettigrew lives for a day, yes, but I can imagine she’ll need a year to recover from that single day.

This entry was posted in 100 movies in 2015, movie talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

