2015 PopSugar Reading Challenge: end results

A good friend of mine just told me she was going through this list to see how many books she could tick off this year. Neither one of us really properly followed it (I personally didn’t even look at it for pretty much the entire year), but, you know. It might be fun to take a look anyway!

82080b54069bceda_Love_Sex-2015ReadingChallenge

A book with more than 500 pages 
I have several of these! Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn (566 pages), The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (560 pages), and the last 4 Harry Potter books.

A classic romance 
I’m obviously not that into romance, since I have no classic romances on my list this year!

A book that became a movie 
Again, several of these! Obviously, all the Harry Potter books became movies, as did the first His Dark Materials book. A lot of Agatha Christie’s books have been turned into movies and dramas, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and the first (two?) Percy Jackson books as well. But possibly the most recent: The Martian, by Andy Weir.

A book published this year 
The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness, which I preordered and got the day after publication.

A book with a number in the title 
The Three, by Sarah Lotz.

A book written by someone under 30 
All I Know Now, by Carrie Hope Fletcher

A book with nonhuman characters 
I’m going to go with Aesop’s Fables for this one. I have plenty of books with nonhuman side characters, but the only one I can find with main characters that aren’t human is Aesop’s Fables.

A funny book 
Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh.

A book by  a female author
I have plenty of these! I really upped the amount of books written by women, this year. In fact, 29 out of (currently) 54 books were written by women. So.

A mystery or thriller 
I’m just going to put it here that I read several of Agatha Christie’s books. So there’s that.

A book with a one word title 
Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov.

A book of short stories 
The Wilful Eye, edited by Isobelle Carmody

A book set in a different country 
I mean, technically, for me, almost all of these are set in a different country. But for all my US and UK readers (which is most of you), I’m going to go with Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, which is set in Nigeria.

A nonfiction book 
Again, I’ve read several, but for the sake of not making this immensely long, I’m going to stick with An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

A popular author’s first book 
As far as I know, Murder at the Vicarage is Agatha Christie’s first book. At the very least, it’s the first in the Miss Marple series. Also a first book: Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone, by JK Rowling.

A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet 
The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling. I put this one off for so long! But I’m glad I finally read it this year.

A book a friend recommended 
I don’t recall a specific book that was recommended by a friend. I do, however, have a book that was given to me by a friend, which is pretty much the same thing, right? As a late birthday gift, I got Mister B. Gone by Clive Barker.

A Pulitzer Prize winning book 
I’ll be honest with you here: I have no idea where to even begin looking into this one. So I’m going to skip this one!

A book based on a true story 
I don’t think I have any fiction based on a true story – just nonfiction, and then still mostly autobiographical works. So again, skipping this one!

A book at the bottom of your to-read list 
Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov

A book your mom loves 
Let’s just say that my mom and I, our taste in books couldn’t be more different. She doesn’t read much to begin with, but the things she does read? I’d rather steer clear of those.

A book that scares you 
Obvious answer: Horrorstor, by Grady Hendrix.
Less obvious answer: Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov, just because of the reminder that people like him really exist and these things really happen.

A book more than 100 years old 
The Autobiography of Yukichi Fukuzawa, and Aesop’s Fables.

A book based entirely on its cover 
My money is too dear to me to ever justify buying a book based on its cover. I always read the blurb!

A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t 
Ha, joke’s on you. We didn’t have any required reading, the only requirement was reading in itself.

A memoir
Is that the same as an autobiography? Does that count? Because I have a couple of those, but nothing that really says ‘memoir’

A book you can finish in a day 
Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

A book with antonyms in the title 
I have none of these. None.

A book set somewhere you always wanted to visit 
The Harry Potter series, because Hogwarts. Cliche answer, I know, I know.

A book that came out the year you were born 
Again, I have none! At least not that I’m aware of.

A book with bad reviews 
The Three, by Sarah Lotz

A trilogy 
The His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

A book from your childhood 
Confetti Conflict by Carry Slee

A book with a love triangle 
Oh please, I already read barely any romance, let alone love triangles. The best way to make me NOT finish a book is by putting a love triangle in it.

A book set in the future 
The Martian, by Andy Weir

A book set in high school 
Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley

A book with a colour in the title 
Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

A book that made you cry 
To a lesser extent: Harry Potter & The Goblet of Fire (because of Cedric)
Cried buckets: The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller. Buckets I tell you. So many tears.

A book with magic 
A Hero At The End of the World by Erin Claiborne. Also obviously the Harry Potter series.

A graphic novel 
Do the Asterix & Obelix comics count? Or Hyperbole and a Half? Because otherwise I have nothing.

A book by an author you’ve never read 
So many of them! But an honourable mention goes to Agatha Christie.

A book you own but have never read 
I have a pile of those, and by far most of the books I read in 2015 fall in this category.

A book that takes place in your hometown 
If you find one of those, let me know. I genuinely don’t think there is one! Erm. Not that I’m telling you precisely where I live or come from, just to clarify. But it’s a small town no one’s ever heard of, so, I really don’t think there are any books set here.

A book that was originally written in a different language 
The Autobiography of Yukichi Fukuzawa, which was originally written in Japanese but I read in Dutch.

A book set during Christmas 
I have none!

A book written by an author with your same initials 
Again, I have none!

A play
Still nope.

A banned book 
Technically, Lolita was banned for a long time.

A book based on or turned into a TV show 
None of those yet, BUT, a TV series for His Dark Materials has been announced to be in the works, and the rights have been sold for The Song of Achilles.

A book you started but never finished 
I don’t think I picked one of those up again, but I do have some unfinished ones! I’m somewhere in book 2 of War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, and I’m still very slowly, bit by bit, working my way through Homer’s Iliad.

So those are my answers for this year’s Popsugar book challenge! I might take the 2016 more into account in the coming year. Then again, I might not.

Did you do this challenge this year? What’s your endscore on it? Let me know in the comments below! And if you made it this far with reading, wow! Congratulations! That’s some serious hard work you’ve put into reading this blogpost, and I want you to know I’m genuinely grateful you’re taking the effort to read my writing. Thank you!

This entry was posted in book talk, books, reading challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

