Christmas/Birthday book haul

I might not’ve gotten much (compared to most bookhauls I’ve seen around on the internet, that is), but I’m really happy with the ones I did get. So here’s a list with which books I got (/bought for myself) and why I’m looking forward to reading them!

27187955

Carry On (Rainbow Rowell) 

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.

(Goodreads)

Sometime last year, I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. In it, the main character writes fanfiction, loosely based on Harry Potter. Now, we’re getting the full fanfic in book-form, and as someone who has been a Harry/Draco shipper since roughly age 14, I could not be happier.

18665033

The Gospel of Loki (Joanne M. Harris) 

Loki, that’s me.

Loki, the Light-Bringer, the misunderstood, the elusive, the handsome and modest hero of this particular tissue of lies. Take it with a pinch of salt, but it’s at least as true as the official version, and, dare I say it, more entertaining.

So far, history, such as it is, has cast me in a rather unflattering role.

Now it’s my turn to take the stage.

With his notorious reputation for trickery and deception, and an ability to cause as many problems as he solves, Loki is a Norse god like no other. Demon-born, he is viewed with deepest suspicion by his fellow gods who will never accept him as one of their own and for this he vows to take his revenge.

From his recruitment by Odin from the realm of Chaos, through his years as the go-to man of Asgard, to his fall from grace in the build-up to Ragnarok, this is the unofficial history of the world’s ultimate trickster.

(Goodreads)

I’d heard about this book several times, and always considered getting it. I’ve had it in my hands several times, yet somehow I never actually bought it. But after the mythology & history binge I went on this year, I figured it was about time I extended towards Norse mythology. And who better to start with than the ever-popular Marvel villain, Loki?

12343349
Mary Poppins (P.L. Travers) 

From the moment Mary Poppins arrives at Number Seventeen Cherry-Tree Lane, everyday life at the Banks house is forever changed. This classic series tells the story of the world’s most beloved nanny, who brings enchantment and excitement with her everywhere she goes.

It all starts when Mary Poppins is blown by the east wind onto the doorstep of the Banks house. She becomes a most unusual nanny to Jane, Michael, and the twins. Who else but Mary Poppins can slide up banisters, pull an entire armchair out of an empty carpetbag, and make a dose of medicine taste like delicious lime-juice cordial? A day with Mary Poppins is a day of magic and make-believe come to life!

(Goodreads)

I love both the original Mary Poppins movie, and Saving Mr Banks. Yet for some reason I’ve never read the original books. So when I came across a secondhand 1958 edition today, I couldn’t not buy it. It’ll go nicely with my other vintage/antique/fake-vintage books.

24424963
The Miniaturist (Jessie Burton)

On an autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives at a grand house in Amsterdam to begin her new life as the wife of wealthy merchant Johannes Brandt. Though curiously distant, he presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift; a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations ring eerily true.

As Nella uncovers the secrets of her new household, she realises the escalating dangers they face. The miniaturist seems to hold their fate in her hands – but does she plan to save or destroy them?

(Goodreads)

Again, a book I’ve had in my hands several times. I’ve heard a lot about this one, it’s made its way through Booktube. But, like The Gospel of Loki, I somehow never bought it, always doubting whether I should. Until I came across what must be an unread edition in the secondhand shop today, for just 5 euro. I mean. Come on. A girl is allowed to get herself cheap Christmas gifts, right?

Right.
27761442

Burial Rites (Hannah Kent)

Northern Iceland, 1829.

A woman condemned to death for murdering her lover.
A family forced to take her in.
A priest tasked with absolving her.

But all is not as it seems, and time is running out: winter is coming, and with it the execution date.

Only she can know the truth. This is Agnes’s story.

(Goodreads)

Again, a book I’ve heard lots about – it made its way through Booktube a while back, always to positive reviews. Yet I never bought it. But here it is now, on my TBR stack, fitting in nicely with my recent interest in Iceland and its culture. Should be fun! Or at the very least interesting.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas/Birthday book haul

  1. The Miniaturist’s on my tbr list, hope you enjoy reading it! 🙂

  2. picklesbooks says:

    I love Mary Poppins! I finished the last book a few weeks ago. Also the cover of The Miniaturist is super gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

