Birthday book tag

I have my birthday this week (hitting age 26! God I feel old, someone give me a timeturner – or a timelord, either one, I don’t mind), so in an attempt at keeping things in the bookish sphere of things, I decided to do the Birthday Book Tag!

I found these questions at this blog (through the Google overlords), so thanks for the list!

1. Count your birth day along your bookshelf and then subtract your birth month. What book does it land on? 

Right, so just starting at the top of the most filled shelf: The Gods of Gotham, by Lyndsay Faye. I should reread this book at some point, since I do think I enjoyed it, and I wasn’t aware until quite recently that it’s now a trilogy! I definitely have some catching up to do there.

2. If you could spend your birthday with any fictional character who would it be and why?

I think I’d like to hang out with Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle. She’s such a wonderful character, and I feel like she has amazing stories to tell.

3. Find a book that takes place in the season you were born in.

As it turns out, I mostly have either summer books, or books whose stories play out over several seasons. I’ll just pick one that starts off in winter: Krabat, by Otfried Preussler. I mean, sure, it’s set over the course of an entire year (if not more, I don’t remember 100%!), but it definitely starts off in early January.

4. Find a book that is the colour of your birth stone.

The birthstones for December are, according to Google, Tanzanite, Zircon, and Turquoise. So blue. For this, I’m going to pick The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August (which is an amazing book you should definitely all read).
22999863

5. Is there a series with the same number of books as your age? If so what is it?

Oh god I hope not. I’m definitely not up for reading 26 books in a series. If there is one, feel free to let me know, but I’m not likely to actually pick it up.

6. Pick a book set in a time period, world or country you would like to have been born in.

I know the cliche answer here is Harry Potter, but to be honest, I think the wizarding world is absolutely terrifying, so thanks but no thanks. I’m just going to go with Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, because I actually like the contemporary, real world! And I like fanfiction and studying and cute stories, so I feel like this fits well.

 

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday book tag

  1. Cara says:

    Yeah, i flipped out when I turned 25. At the time, I was finishing up my Master’s thesis and very worried it wouldn’t be accepted by my advisor (and if it wasn’t accepted, I couldn’t graduate), I was preparing for my state exams to become a teacher, I was looking for work. My parents took me out to dinner on my birthday and I threw a fit at the restaurant.

Leave a Reply

