Mass book reviews

It’s time for more mass book reviews! In this series, I pick a bunch of books I’ve been reading lately that maybe I didn’t particularly like, or I’m kind of opinion-less about or it was just a quick read in between better books. Either way, I don’t feel like I could write a proper, full review about any of these. And thus, a mass book review is born!


The Moving Finger – Agatha Christie. 4 /5 stars
This short Christie novel is just one like many others. Mysteries happen, murders happen, the murders get more mysterious, strange old lady solves very unlikely case. It’s a fairly standard format – if it wasn’t for the fact that this one is written from the perspective of a young Londoner who has moved to the countryside with his sister to recover after an accident, and the actual Mrs Marple doesn’t even show up until the book is almost at its end. Instead, this book really explores small-town life from an outsider’s perspective, especially when shaken up by mysterious and accusing letters. An interesting little novel, but only if you’re already interested in this sort of thing.

Aesop’s Fables, 3/5 stars
Somehow, in my almost 26 years on this planet, I had somehow managed to miss the existence of Aesop’s fables for the longest time. Sure, I’d heard of the story of the hare and the turtle, but I’d never linked it to this ancient Greek writer. Still, I somehow managed to hear of the stories sometime this year, so when I came across this collection of his stories at the charity shop, I immediately brought it with me. I can’t say I was really impressed by the stories, though I liked seeing how some messages and tidbits of wisdom have apparently been applicable for several thousands of years already. Never change, humanity ❤

Confetti Conflict – Carry Slee, 2 /5 stars
This book is something of a children’s classic (or at the very least I distinctly remember it) in the Netherlands by famous Dutch children’s/teen writer Carry Slee. Confetti Conflict is about two teenagers, Mark and Jasmijn, and what’s happening in their lives. From oppressive parents, fighting for your dream, finding out your father is gay, to the bully in your class, it manages (or at least tries to) cover a lot of topics in its short length. In all honesty, upon rereading it – albeit older than before – it was definitely less interesting than I remembered. It’s not actually that well-written, and all in all I was not impressed.

O Cruel Alexis – Virgil (Penguin Little Black Classics), no rating
O Cruel Alexis is one of the Penguin Little Black Classics, released last year for Penguin’s 80th anniversary. This specific little book basically consists of samples of Virgil’s works. Unfortunately, they have been pulled completely out of context, given no explanation, and seem to consist of just random tidbits. Some parts seemed interesting, if only I knew a bit more about what was going on. I did finish reading it, but don’t ask me what any of it was about because I spent the entire book completely confused. Such a shame, this could’ve been a great introduction to Virgil’s work.

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson #2) – Rick Riordan, 3/5 stars
Part two of the Percy Jackson series, in which Percy & Annabeth go off on a quest to find the golden fleece in the hopes of saving the Halfblood Camp. Enjoyable, fun, and a very quick read. Fun to notice all the little hints of mythology scattered throughout the book, especially now I’m learning more about Greek mythology.

Between the Lines –  Jodi Picoult & Samanta van Leer. 1/5 stars
Do not read. Really. Just don’t. What seems like a very interesting concept (characters in books are actually alive and go back to their own lives when the book closes, which is still within the narrative and world of the book but the characters are essentially actors), is turned into a terrible, cheesy, and just downright excruciatingly badly written mess. I groaned out loud every other page while reading this, while I mentally cried at how terrible it all was. I just finished reading it to find out why people like it – it remains a mystery. 

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mass book reviews

  1. Pingback: Book review: Percy Jackson & the Titan’s Curse (by Rick Riordan) | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

