50 Books Challenge: DONE!

Guess who finished her 50 books challenge for the first time ever!

That’s right – me!

A couple of days ago I finished rereading Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets, which turned out to be my 50th of this year, making me 3 weeks ahead of schedule and putting me on an average of one book a week.

Granted, I may have cheated a bit with some very, very tiny books. But they totally still count as books (and I read some very big ones, too, so I think the average is alright.)

Obviously, a lot of the reviews are still pending, but here is the full list of 50 books I’ve read this year, with links to the review if there is one.

All in all, looking back, I’m quite happy with this year’s reading (so far). I think this is a nice mix of literature, YA, classics, and different genres. From horror to detectives to romance to fantasy to epic poems, I have it all there. And I like it that way! I’ve never been one to really focus on just one genre or type of book. Besides, this year has definitely been a year of exploring different kinds of books for me, and in a roundabout way I’ve been exploring who I am and what I like. I think I have a slightly better grasp on that, too, even if just slightly.

I have some new favourites, and some books that I now know I truly don’t like.

It’s been a good year. Let’s hope the trend continues these last weeks of the year yet to come, and of course into 2016 too!

Did you do a (Goodreads or otherwise) reading challenge this year? If so, how’s it going, and are you going to reach your goal? Let me know in the comments below!

THE 50 BOOKS CHALLENGE

50: Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets – JK Rowling, 5/5 stars

49: Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone (illustrated edition)- JK Rowling & Jim Kay, 5/5

48: The Moving Finger – Agatha Christie. 4/5stars

47: Aesop’s Fables, 3/5stars

46: His Dark Materials trilogy – Philip Pullman, 5/5 stars

45: Confetti Conflict – Carry Slee, 2 /5 stars

44: O Cruel Alexis – Virgil, no rating

43: What If? Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothethical Questions – Randall Monroe, 3/5 stars

42: The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson #2) – Rick Riordan 3/5stars

41: Between the Lines –  Jodi Picoult & Samanta van Leer. 1/5 stars

40: An Astronaut`s Guide to Life on Earth, by Chris Hadfield. 5/5 stars

39: Tipping the Velvet, by Sarah Waters. 4/5 stars

38: Look Who`s Back, by Timur Vermes. 2/5 stars

37: The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness. 4/5 stars

36: Dust and Shadow, by Lyndsay Faye. 3/5 stars

35: Everything Leads to You, by Nina Lacour. 4/5 stars

34: Kamikaze Girls, by Novala Takemoto. 2/5 stars

33: The Cuckoo`s Calling, by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling. 3/5 stars

32: Weight, by Jeanette Winterson. 4/5 stars

31: Inkheart, by Cornelia Funke. 4/5 stars

30: Murder She Said, by Agatha Christie. 3/5 stars

29: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan. 4/5 stars

28: Grijs Gebied, by Marion Pauw. 1/5 stars

27: Horrorstor, by Grady Hendrix. 3/5 stars

26: Beauty Queens, by Libba Bray. 2/5 stars

25: Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn. 4/5 stars

24: The Kraken Wakes, by John Wyndham. 3/5 stars

23: The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller. 5/5 stars

22: The Odyssey of Asterix, by René Goscinny. 3/5 stars

21: The Call of the Weird, by Louis Theroux. 3/5 stars

20: Vixen, by Rosie Garland. 3/5 stars

19: Lady in Dread, by Ryerson Johnson. 3/5 stars

18: The Martian, by Andy Weir. 5/5 stars

17: A Hero at the End of the World, by Erin Claiborne. 4/5 stars

16: All I Know Now, by Carrie Hope Fletcher. 4/5 stars

15: The Three, by Sarah Lotz. 4/5 stars

14: How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion, by René Goscinny. 4/5 stars

13: The Wilful Eye (Tales from the Tower #1), collected by Isobelle Carmody. 2/5 stars

12: Mister B. Gone, by Clive Barker. 3/5 stars

11: Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. 3/5 stars

10: The Day of the Triffids, by John Wyndham. 5/5 stars

9: De Zomer Hou Je Ook Niet Tegen, by Dimitri Verhulst. 1/5 stars

8: The Murder at the Vicarage, by Agatha Christie. 5/5 stars

7: Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh. 5/5 stars

6: The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. 4/5 stars

5: Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley. 4/5 stars

4: All That Is Solid Melts Into Air, by Darragh McKeon. 2/5 stars

3: The Autobiography of Yukichi Fukuzawa. 4/5 stars

2: Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov. 2/5 stars

1: Leonardo da Vinci, by Walter Pater. 2/5 stars

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

