Halloween 2015 – a non-scary recommendations list

If you’re wondering why this blog isn’t run over by skeletons and pumpkins, here’s why: I’m Dutch.

I love Halloween! Absolutely love it. But, it’s not an actual tradition here in the Netherlands. It’s only in recent years that it’s been getting more and more popular. There’s only tiny amounts of Halloween candy in stores, if any, and good luck with finding any costume at all here (most teenagers and students manage this perfectly fine, though I’ll never know how).

This year, I’m stuck in a very boring part of the country and I’m working the entire weekend (booooh adult life), so no party for me. Instead, I’m going to sit down and watch a movie or two in my PJ with a bowl of crisps, and that’s about it. Still, I thought I’d recommend some of my favourite horror-y stories with you!

I say “favourite”, by which I actually mean “these are ok’ed by me, so they’re really not super scary because I don’t like scary things”. No really: having all kinds of anxiety makes life hard enough as it is, no need to add more to it.

So here are some of my favourite humorous/fun/adventurous spooky watches & reads!


1. The Addams Family Values 
What. A. Classic. I’ve always liked The Addams Family, and am fairly certain I watched at least one if not several incarnations of the show and movies as a child. This love has not abated over the years. In fact, I think I’m going to point to these films whenever someone asks me what my kind of humour is. It’s this.

2. Zombieland 
In case you’re up for some hilarious zombie killing, combined with nerdy survival ideas. Remember: always check the back seat, and don’t forget to cardio train!

3. Sleepy Hollow 
Slightly spookier, but still with a kooky Johnny Depp in the lead role. If you can handle beheaded monsters and the ocassional blood (err, if I remember correctly, that is), then this is a great Halloween movie.

4. any of the Harry Potter movies 
Because who doesn’t like magic, wizards, and a noseless Ralph Fiennes. Or just watch them for the beautiful shots of the Great Hall during Halloween. Or in remembrance of Harry’s parents getting killed on Halloween. Your choice.

5. The Zombie Survival Guide/ World War Z 
Nothing like learning how to survive a potential zombie apocalypse while surrounded by potential zombies, amiright?

6. Warm Bodies 
This book has it all: humour, extremely philosophical zombies who have difficulty expressing their intricate thoughts in more than just grunts, a Romeo & Juliette inspired love story, you name it. You can also just watch the movie. I’d personally say the book is a tiny bit better, but on this night the movie will do just fine.

7. Shaun of the Dead 
I know this list is full of zombies, but trust me when I say that this British comedy is just absolute perfection. Filled with stereotypes, humour, and people dealing really, really badly with this whole zombie apocalypse thing. It gets gore-y at times, as zombie movies usually do, but it’s definitely worth the watch.

I’m sure I’ve both forgotten loads and have simply missed a lot. And if you’re wondering why the Nightmare before Christmas isn’t on here: I associate that movie much more with my birthday, for reasons I’ll explain in more detail some other day.

If you have any recommendations for me, let me know!

Take care, and I’ll see you guys soon 🙂

This entry was posted in book talk, halloween, movie talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween 2015 – a non-scary recommendations list

  1. Nice website. I recommend to friends.

Leave a Reply

