50 books challenge 2015: 40 (and one) books milestone

Earlier this week, I hit the 40-books mark on my 50 books challenge on Goodreads. This means a couple of things:

  • I am very close to actually getting to 50
  • Technically, I`m at 41 books, I`m just late with writing this
  • I have now officially read more books than in the previous two years (not combined)
  • I am way, way behind on book reviews (as per usual, except worse)

Without going into too much detail, because who needs long stories anyway (don`t say anything), I`m just going to say this: I am very happy that I`ve been reading this much. Nothing has compared to The Martian and The Song of Achilles yet, and everything is bland and boring now, somebody save me. I am also fully aware that I`ve been kind of cheating by reading some very, very tiny books. I mean: Goodreads counts Asterix & Obelix comics as one book each, which just isn`t fair with only 15 minutes of reading time.

I have also been too exhausted every single day to write lots here or make videos on YouTube, which is why everything has been so quiet. I`ve gone to the doctor, though we don`t have a result just yet. But in any case, yay exhaustion, just this post has been taking me over an hour already, so I`m going to stop now.

Top books of the year so far
In all honesty, this list hasn`t expanded much. But I think these books deserve mentioning again anyway, because they`re just so, so great. If you haven`t checked these out yet, I absolutely recommend you do! I rated all of these with 5 stars, so they definitely have my stamp of approval.

The full, updated list of books & reviews

1: Leonardo da Vinci, by Walter Pater. 2/5 stars
2: Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov. 2/5 stars
3: The Autobiography of Yukichi Fukuzawa. 4/5 stars
4: All That Is Solid Melts Into Air, by Darragh McKeon. 2/5 stars
5: Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley. 4/5 stars
6: The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. 4/5 stars
7: Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh. 5/5 stars
8: The Murder at the Vicarage, by Agatha Christie. 5/5 stars
9: De Zomer Hou Je Ook Niet Tegen, by Dimitri Verhulst. 1/5 stars
10: The Day of the Triffids, by John Wyndham. 5/5 stars
11: Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. 3/5 stars
12: Mister B. Gone, by Clive Barker. 3/5 stars
13: The Wilful Eye (Tales from the Tower #1), collected by Isobelle Carmody. 2/5 stars
14: How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion, by René Goscinny. 4/5 stars
15: The Three, by Sarah Lotz. 4/5 stars
16: All I Know Now, by Carrie Hope Fletcher. 4/5 stars
17: A Hero at the End of the World, by Erin Claiborne. 4/5 stars
18: The Martian, by Andy Weir. 5/5 stars
19: Lady in Dread, by Ryerson Johnson. 3/5 stars
20: Vixen, by Rosie Garland. 3/5 stars
21: The Call of the Weird, by Louis Theroux. 3/5 stars
22: The Odyssey of Asterix, by René Goscinny. 3/5 stars
23: The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller. 5/5 stars
24: The Kraken Wakes, by John Wyndham. 3/5 stars
25: Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn. 4/5 stars
26: Beauty Queens, by Libba Bray. 2/5 stars
27: Horrorstor, by Grady Hendrix. 3/5 stars
28: Grijs Gebied, by Marion Pauw. 1/5 stars
29: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan. 4/5 stars
30: Murder She Said, by Agatha Christie. 3/5 stars
31: Inkheart, by Cornelia Funke. 4/5 stars
32: Weight, by Jeanette Winterson. 4/5 stars
33: The Cuckoo`s Calling, by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling. 3/5 stars
34: Kamikaze Girls, by Novala Takemoto. 2/5 stars
35: Everything Leads to You, by Nina Lacour. 4/5 stars
36: Dust and Shadow, by Lyndsay Faye. 3/5 stars
37: The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness. 4/5 stars
38: Look Who`s Back, by Timur Vermes. 2/5 stars
39: Tipping the Velvet, by Sarah Waters. 4/5 stars
40: An Astronaut`s Guide to Life on Earth, by Chris Hadfield. 5/5 stars
41: Between the Lines, by Jodi Picoult & Samanta van Leer. 1/5 stars

What have you been reading lately? And do you have any recommendations? Let me know!

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 books challenge 2015: 40 (and one) books milestone

  1. Pingback: Mass book review: 10 (mini)book reviews in one post | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

