Book review: Gone Girl (by Gillian Flynn)

Title: Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Page count: 566 pages (mass paperback edition)
Rating: 4/5 stars

Trigger warnings for the book: all the triggers. Really. This is a psychological thriller with some very messed up people so anything you can think of, and then some, should be taken into account.

Spoiler warnings for this review: spoilerfree!

16960820

Goodreads summary:

On the morning of their fifth wedding anniversary, Nick’s wife, Amy, has disappeared. Nick is weak, Nick is a liar, and maybe he’s not the very best of husbands — but is he a killer? Amy’s diary reveals turmoil over their marriage, strange sicknesses, and her deep wish to be a mother — but is she telling the whole story? As the evidence slowly mounts, and the police investigation deepens, Nick is incriminated in horrible ways. He swears he didn’t murder his beautiful wife and goes on the offensive to clear his name. The mystery of Amy’s disappearance only gets more tangled as secrets unfurl from the web of their knotty marriage, and it becomes clear that something may have happened more disturbing than death.

I know, I know. I`m super late with jumping on the bandwagon for this one. The hype has come and gone, and if my memory serves me right a new Gillian Flynn movie is already coming up (I haven`t even seen the movie version of Gone Girl yet).

At least I finally read it, right? Right?!

This book was pretty much exactly what I expected it to be, based on what I gathered from the hype. No big surprises there. It`s definitely a “you get what you see” kind of book.

I did find the book very interesting. Psychological thrillers are usually not really my kind of book, but this was enjoyable. I thought it was really interesting to see how utterly deplorable and messed up these characters were, and Gillain Flynn definitely writes them well. It was very interesting to see the events not just unfold, but spiral more and more out of control. Every time I thought things couldn`t possibly get any worse, they did.

It was a fairly quick read as well. Despite it`s 500+ pages, which can easily take me two weeks, it only took me 5 days to read this one. It`s definitely a page turner, though, again, I didn`t really feel the `pull` to keep reading whenever I could like I do with some books.

Still, I can`t quite put my finger on it, but something about this book bugs me now that I`m looking back on it. Was it the very unsatisying ending? Was it the way it sometimes felt rushed and at other times felt almost too meticulously planned? I don`t know.

It didn`t leave a very big impression on me either. As soon as I finished, I could kind of just shrug and put it away and move on to the next book. I`m already not particularly inclined to read (psychological) thrillers as it is, but in a way I feel like I`ve had my fill of them for a very long time now. It`s an alright genre, but apparently it`s really not my cup of tea.

I did enjoy it, but I also know that the sentence “if you loved Gone Girl, you`re going to love this” is going to put me off whatever book that`s written on.

Do I recommend it? Yes, though only if you`re into these kinds of thrillers and/or very messed up characters and unreliable narrators as it is. Personally, I think it might be somewhat overhyped, so keep that in mind if you do pick it up.

Did you read this book? Let me know what you thought of it if you did!

And for now, take care, and I`ll see you guys soon 🙂

(The next book review will be Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. I am currently reading The Cuckoo`s Calling by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling.)

This entry was posted in book talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book review: Gone Girl (by Gillian Flynn)

  1. Pingback: 50 books challenge 2015: 40 (and one) books milestone | Charlotte Blogs

  2. Pingback: 50 Books Challenge: DONE! | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

