First 30 books of 2015: a midyear masterpost

When I hit 15 books this year (here), I wrote up a short masterpost of all of them, including links to their reviews. So I thought with all the midyear-rounding-up I`ve been doing and having now read 30 books, this is as good an opportunity as any to do another roundup.

Top books of the year so far
As always, some books just stand out more than others. These are all the books so far that have gotten a 5 star rating on Goodreads. Looking back, I`m not sure about one or two of these, while some of them have gone straight on to my favourites shelf and will definitely be in my top 5 for the whole year. But for now I`m going to leave the list as it is.

The full list 
Here is the full list of books I`ve read, including my rating and a link to the review if I have written one. If you see a book here that you`d like to know more about, feel free to leave a comment to ask!

And yes, I know I`m (as always) behind on book reviews. I am also (as always) working on it!

Still, overall I`m quite pleased with this list of books. I think there`s a good diversity of different genres and voices there, and I have a couple of new favourite books listed here as well. And better yet: I`m ahead of my Goodreads challenge! With 30 books when I only needed 27, I have good hopes that I might actually make it to 50 this year. Though I suppose we`re only halfway through the year and anything might happen still.

Either way, I`m happy so far! So here`s the full list:

1: Leonardo da Vinci, by Walter Pater. 2/5 stars
2: Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov. 2/5 stars
3: The Autobiography of Yukichi Fukuzawa. 4/5 stars
4: All That Is Solid Melts Into Air, by Darragh McKeon. 2/5 stars
5: Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley. 4/5 stars
6: The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. 4/5 stars
7: Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh. 5/5 stars
8: The Murder at the Vicarage, by Agatha Christie. 5/5 stars
9: De Zomer Hou Je Ook Niet Tegen, by Dimitri Verhulst. 1/5 stars
10: The Day of the Triffids, by John Wyndham. 5/5 stars
11: Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. 3/5 stars
12: Mister B. Gone, by Clive Barker. 3/5 stars
13: The Wilful Eye (Tales from the Tower #1), collected by Isobelle Carmody. 2/5 stars
14: How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion, by René Goscinny. 4/5 stars
15: The Three, by Sarah Lotz. 4/5 stars
16: All I Know Now, by Carrie Hope Fletcher. 4/5 stars
17: A Hero at the End of the World, by Erin Claiborne. 4/5 stars
18: The Martian, by Andy Weir. 5/5 stars
19: Lady in Dread, by Ryerson Johnson. 3/5 stars
20: Vixen, by Rosie Garland. 3/5 stars
21: The Call of the Weird, by Louis Theroux. 3/5 stars
22: The Odyssey of Asterix, by René Goscinny. 3/5 stars
23: The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller. 5/5 stars
24: The Kraken Wakes, by John Wyndham. 3/5 stars
25: Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn. 4/5 stars
26: Beauty Queens, by Libba Bray. 2/5 stars
27: Horrorstor, by Grady Hendrix. 3/5 stars
28: Grijs Gebied, by Marion Pauw. 1/5 stars
29: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan. 4/5 stars
30: Murder She Said, by Agatha Christie. 3/5 stars

I am currently reading three books:
War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy
A Little Life, by Hanya Yanagihara
Someone Like You, by Roald Dahl

But to be honest, I`ve put the first two on hold for a while. Sometimes, your mind is just not in the right place, you know what I mean? I`ve decided to see if I still want to read them in a while, and to focus on other books for now. I can feel something of a reading slump coming up as it is, so this is no time to be tackling 500+ pages of Drama and Epic.

What have you been reading lately? Read anything that made you go “yes, you are a new favourite”? If so, let me know in the comments! Let`s spread some bookloving 🙂

And for now, take care and I`ll see you guys again soon 🙂

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

