The first 15 books of 2015: a bookish round-up

About two hours ago, I finished my 15th book for the year, The Three by Sarah Lotz. Since I like numbers that are some variation with 5, I figured this was a good time to do the first book round-up of the year. So, in the order in which I`ve read them, here are all the books with my personal rating and a link to a review if I have written one.

I am currently 3 books behind in terms of writing reviews, which is a trend that has been happening for over a year now. I always try to catch up, and I always fail, so just assume that whatever book I just posted about? I`ll usually have read it over a month earlier. Still, I`m quite proud of having fairly consistently written reviews this year. I only skipped one book! And that was a 15-page-book about the artistic journey of Leonardo da Vinci so I think I can be forgiven for that one. There`s just not much to say about something like that, really.

As you can also see, the books are all over the place in terms of genre, style, and in my rating. I`ve been discussing this with a good friend of mine who seems to have the same thing, and we both feel as if we`re kind of searching for what it is exactly that we like. We`ve both gone through a lot over the past years, and are struggling a bit with our identities and who we are and what we like. Neither of us mind that we`re trying out all these new things though. I know that I, for one, am quite enjoying the diversity in genres! I hope it keeps up for a while.

The current list is still quite white in terms of authors, though I`m glad to see more women on the list. I`m always a bit torn between consciously picking diverse authors and broadening my perspective, and going for the stories that interest me but potentially staying in my comfort zone. I`ll explain this a bit more sometime soon, but for now, I`m satisfied with this list.

According to Goodreads I am also behind on my 50 books challenge. This is surprising because I have several books in there that take literally only a couple of hours at most to read. This is also unsurprising because I`ve had several times where I just didn`t read for weeks or took 2 or 3 weeks to finish one book. Will I make it at the end of the year? Probably not. I have some more really big books here that I`d like to read this year, and in all honesty I`m okay with not making it to 50 books if it means I read 2 or 3 massive books instead.

Without further ado, here`s the first 15 books of 2015:

1: Leonardo da Vinci, by Walter Pater. 2/5 stars

2: Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov. 2/5 stars

3: The Autobiography of Yukichi Fukuzawa. 4/5 stars

4: All That Is Solid Melts Into Air, by Darragh McKeon. 2/5 stars

5: Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley. 4/5 stars

6: The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. 4/5 stars

7: Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh. 5/5 stars

8: The Murder at the Vicarage, by Agatha Christie. 5/5 stars

9: De Zomer Hou Je Ook Niet Tegen, by Dimitri Verhulst. 1/5 stars

10: The Day of the Triffids, by John Wyndham. 5/5 stars

11: Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. 3/5 stars

12: Mister B. Gone, by Clive Barker. 3/5 stars

13: The Wilful Eye (Tales from the Tower #1), collected by Isobelle Carmody. 2/5 stars

14: How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion, by René Goscinny. 4/5 stars

15: The Three, by Sarah Lotz. 4/5 stars

I am currently alternating between the following 3 books, so I only have a vague inkling of what will be #16 on the list:

#1 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
#2 Lady in Dread – Ryerson Johnson
#3 All I Know Now – Carrie Hope Fletcher

Whichever one I finish first (my bet is most definitely NOT on War and Peace here), you can find out first on my Goodreads.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The first 15 books of 2015: a bookish round-up

  1. Pingback: First 30 books of 2015: a midyear masterpost | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

