April To Be Read

I currently have about 30 books on my TBR-pile. Having finished a book today (Mister B. Gone by Clive Barker, review will come up….someday), I was at a bit of a loss as to what to read next.

Luckily I have very bookish friends, and one of them was willing to pick one for me! She ended up picking two, which is obviously even better.

Now I was already slowly making my way through Tales of the Tower: The Wilful Eye.

11016554

I`m about halfway through that one, and I can`t really say I`m enjoying the short stories so far. I`m not sure if I just don`t like the general style, or I don`t like short stories in general, but I`m going to continue reading on-and-off for now to see if anything I do like pops up.

As for the books my friend picked for me, the first one is a massive one that`s been on my TBR pile for a very long time. I`m guesstimating somewhere around two years, though I might be a bit off. If you`re wondering why, this is the book:

873486I have a slightly different edition from this one (though still a Wordsworth, but it`s blue and secondhand and kind of ugly), but the story itself is still 974 pages of pure Russian epic literature.War and Peace is an ambitious read that I`m perfectly willing to spread out over several months, so don`t expect a review of this anytime soon.

Luckily, my friend said: “it`s a book you really need to focus on though, so if you have trouble with that (spoiler alert: I do), then I suggest you pick up Gone Girl instead”.

16960820

To which I said: “How about I do both, and just read War and Peace bit by bit so I can practice focusing on long, complicated stories.”

She agreed that this is probably a good idea, and so I have it set! My April TBR is:

  • Tales from the Tower: The Wilful Eye (gathered by Isobelle Carmody & Nan McNab)
  • War and peace (by Leo Tolstoy)
  • Gone Girl (by Gillian Flynn)

To keep up with my reading, and to see if I stray from this chosen path (which is very likely, knowing me), I suggest you follow me at my Goodreads account here. In the meantime, I will also try and catch up on my book reviews and regular posting again.

Take care, and I`ll see you all soon! 🙂

 

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April To Be Read

  1. I really want to read Gone Girl this month! I’ve heard amazing things.

    • kojitmal says:

      I know right! I`ve heard so many amazing things about this book as well. I`m very late with jumping on the bandwagon, but better late than never, right? Let me know what you think when you read it this month!

Leave a Reply

