My favourite guilty pleasures

I don`t generally have a lot of thoughts on guilty pleasures. I consider them something society tells us we should be ashamed of despite simply enjoying them. I decided long ago to just stick to the “simply enjoying them” and don`t generally feel guilty about it.

Still, I do realise which of the things I love are generally considered guilty pleasures, so I decided to make a small list of them and see how many of you agree! And also to show that, really, there`s no need to feel guilty about anything you enjoy. Just enjoy it and let the haters hate! In the end, if you acknowledge your guilty pleasures and see them for what they are: an important part of you and what you like, then you`ll be the one who`s had way more fun than all those people who hide behind `guilty pleasure` and who try to pretend to be someone they`re not.

Here are some of my supposed guilty pleasures, in no particular order:

1) boybands (both Western and Asian) 
For real though: how great are boybands. Generally great harmonies, lovely songs you can often dance to. The cheesier the better.  I honestly don`t see why so many people consider them a guilty pleasure. I`ll even readily admit that I very much enjoy dancing along and learning the specific dances.
Some of my favourites: Arashi, SHINee, DBSK (before the big dramatic split), Big Bang, some specific Backstreet Boys songs

2) chick flick movies 
I have a tendency to go to either animated movies or chick flicks whenever I feel a bit down or just don`t feel like going into a dramatic, dark story. I love how light and cute and colourful they are, and how they`re so dominated by female leads. I also love how the men are absolutely just there as the cute love interest. And I love happy endings where two people finally get together after all the trouble. I especially love it when it`s not actually about the love but about other themes like finding out who you are or what your worth is, or learning to stand up for yourself and what you want. These themes get underestimated but they`re often an important part of these movies.
Some of my favourites: The Devil Wears Prada, 10 Things I Hate About You, Love Actually

3) musicals
Oh yes. I went there. I have to admit I don`t know that many musicals, and I don`t think I`ve ever seen one in real life on a stage. But give me songs to belt along to and interesting storylines and spontaneous singing in the middle of a conversation and I`ll be happy anyway. I usually do prefer movie versions over theatre, and I usually like quite happy ones. So far the only exception I can think of is Elisabeth, which is probably one of my favourites and the only one I can sing along to in at least 2 languages.
Some of my favourites: Hairspray, Enchanted, Elisabeth, pretty much any Disney movie including the High School Musical movies. (That one song by Troy, `Bet On It` is absolutely hilarious and I will happily show it to literally everyone.)

4) children`s books 
For some reason I seem to have gone from reading highbrow literature as a teenager to reading children`s books in my mid-twenties. I don`t only read children`s books, per se, but there has been something of an increase in children`s books. And no I don`t mean YA either, though there`s that too. No, I`m talking books aimed at age 13 and younger.
Some of my favourites: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (this book will make anyone cry, trust me), the Guardians of Childhood series by William Joyce (again, Pitch`s backstory is just heartwrenching and horrible and it can make me tear up).

So, what are your guilty pleasures? Let me know down in the comments!

This entry was posted in about me, film talk, movie talk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

