Book review: Hyperbole and a Half (by Allie Brosh)

Title: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things that Happened
Author: Allie Brosh
Page count: 369 pages (trade paperback)
Rating: 5/5 stars

17999159

I have been a big fan of Allie Brosh`s blog, Hyperbole and a Half, ever since I first read “Why I`ll never be an adult“. I have lost countless hours just reading and re-reading on that website. I don`t know what it is, but there`s something about the specific brand of humour, the serious and well-written sentences combined with badly made drawings that just fits my slightly odd sense of humour perfectly.

Yet for some reason, despite having known about the book since it was first announced, I had never bought it. I don`t know why, it makes no sense, but I didn`t.

Until this year, when I was watching yet another Bookshelf Tour on YouTube and saw this book and my mind went “huh.” So I bought it about a month later after having had it on my bookdepository wishlist for a while.

As soon as I got it, I realised two things:

  1. This book was going to be hard to put down again,
  2. this was going to be a very quick read.

(I was right on both accounts).

I ended up reading just a couple of chapters every night, giggling away at the silly stories about stupid dog and helper dog or nodding in agreement at the story about depression. I finished the book in just a couple of nights, and it became my first 5-star-book of the year.

This book, after you overcome the minor hurdle of seeing something on physical IRL paper that you usually see on a screen, is such a great read. Allie Brosh`s humour is on-point as always, the book is just as colourful and weird as the blog, and although about half the content is already online anyway, the other half is well worth the money (plus it`s always fun to re-read the other ones).

And although this book would end up on a coffee table if I had one, it would be in honour of a great book and in the hope of promoting it to all of my friends. Maybe even just as a vague attempt of explaining my kind of humour.

This is absolutely a recommendation if you like the blog. The best part is that the blog is also a good testing ground: don`t like it online? You won`t like the book. Love the blog? You`ll love the book. Easy-peasy.

This entry was posted in book talk, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book review: Hyperbole and a Half (by Allie Brosh)

  1. Love Hyperbole and a Half!!! Thanks so much for sharing. If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

  2. Pingback: The first 15 books of 2015: a bookish round-up | Charlotte Blogs

  3. Pingback: First 30 books of 2015: a midyear masterpost | Charlotte Blogs

  4. Pingback: 50 books challenge 2015: 40 (and one) books milestone | Charlotte Blogs

  5. Pingback: 50 Books Challenge: DONE! | Charlotte Blogs

  6. Pingback: Top 10 books of 2015 | Charlotte Blogs

  7. Pingback: Uplifting books for a grey January | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

