Tiny bookhaul!

IMG_4673

*disclaimer: I`m still a bit ill while writing this. This means I am not responsible for any weird sentences that are very likely to show up here. Is it irresponsible to write in a state like this? Absolutely. Is it lots of fun? Yes!

I don`t do a lot of bookhauls. After all, books are expensive where I live and being perpetually broke does not help. I rarely buy more than two books per month. But recently I have bought a couple of books, 5 in total, and I`d thought I`d share it with you all!

I`d like to point out one thing about this bookhaul before I start:

I failed at diversity. I failed horribly, at that.

4 out of 5 of these books are by white, straight men. They`re all from different countries though: Germany, Australia, Russia, Ireland (though he lives in the US) and the last book, the only one by a woman AND the only one featuring obvious LGBT themes, is from the US and is also set there.

Shame on me, I know.

This is still something I`m trying to take into account, and I am very much planning on buying non-white non-male books only in the next month or two. In fact, I have a couple of books lined up that I want

IMG_4689
Krabat, by Otfried Preussler

This book is something of a nostalgic read. I read the book (in Dutch) when I was still in primary school, and it was one of my favourite books back then. I`d been talking about it with a high school friend of mine, who also loves the book, and I decided to look into maybe buying it.

Then recently, I finally got some money because I`m officially on welfare now (sadface) so I decided to treat myself to two books. So I dragged my father along to the bookshop just over the border (a small Mayersche) and after a long, long search I found this one among the fairytales/classics.

So why did I buy this in German? Well, two reasons:

  • I want to improve my German. I know a bit of German, it`s not super good and definitely not grammatically correct, but I can manage very simple conversations in stores and the like. I really want to improve it though, especially living this close to the border where you have to know German for a lot of jobs, too.
  • I love reading books in their original language if I can. I speak from experience, as someone who has studied languages, when I say that a lot gets lost in translation. You lose a lot of language jokes, cultural jokes and references, and often a lot of the writer`s original style. And if I speak several languages anyway, might as well use it to read books in their original language. For this same reason I`m also working on my French, so I can slowly start reading books in that as well.

IMG_4695

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

I brought The Book Thief with me from Germany as well, though this time I stuck to good ol` English. I`d been hearing so much about this book, and I wanted to see the movie when it was released. Though unfortunately for some reason, I wasn`t able to in the end.

But I have heard nothing but good things about this book, and though I`m a bit worried about the whole Death thing going on, I`m very curious to see what I`ll think of it when I finally read it. Also, I think this might be the first Australian author on my bookshelves! Yay for sort-of diversity.

IMG_4690

Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov

This one I picked up for one euro at a charity shop. One euro! Look how pretty it is!

IMG_4691

It`s a fake leather bound copy by a company I haven`t yet found on the internet, though I did find more books of the same series on eBay.

Now, I did already read this one, so I won`t go into it too much. Here is my review of it, and you can find some discussions in the comments. Feel free to join in!

IMG_4692
All That Is Solid Melts Into Air, by Darragh McKeon

This is one of the books I ordered through the local bookshop. I`ve been looking forward to this book for a while, with my recent interest in the USSR and my ongoing interest in the Chernobyl disaster.

The version I have of this book feels a bit weird though. The cover is very pretty, I love it, but the type of paperback and paper they used makes it feel all weird and floppy instead of the usual more sturdy feeling you get when you pick up a book. I`m not sure how easy it`s going to be to read (or maybe it`ll be easier since it`s so flexible) (oh the innuendo), but hopefully it will be an interesting read nonetheless.

IMG_4694
Lies We Tell Ourselves, by Robin Talley

An interracial LGBT book set in 1950`s US amidst massive racist issues (heh, as if anything changed)? Yes, please.

Like I have said before, I have a lack of LGBT themed books on my shelves, and this is one of my first steps towards fixing that. This book actually hits a lot of diversity checkpoints. Written by a woman? Yep. About a LGBT couple? Yep. With diverse characters? Yep. It`s still American though, but hey, we`re getting there.

This is the second book I ordered through the local bookshop, and I somehow didn`t even realise until I reordered the book that it was a hardcover instead of paperback as I thought I`d ordered. I`m still not sure if that was just my fault or if something else went wrong, but oh well. I`m okay with this, really.

This book looks and feels, well. Not as I expected. The cover on the dustjacket, while pretty, also looks a bit like it`s water damaged because of the different textures used, which is a shame. It`s also a bit too big for the book? I`m not sure how they managed to do that, but they did it. It looks a bit sloppy.

I`m sure I`ll survive though. I just hope the book is actually any good!

IMG_4671
That`s it, that`s the books I bought in the last month or so! If you`ve read any of these, let me know what you thought of them, and if you have any recommendations you can also leave those in the comments!

(For now, I am still reading the autobiography of Fukuzawa Yukichi)

This entry was posted in book talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

