2014 book reviews masterpost

Hey guys!

There`s a general  2014 review coming for you guys tomorrow, but today? Books! Cause you know I`m all about the books, `bout the books, no treble.

*cough*

So, 2014. In books. What a year, eh?

I have some new favourites, some new realisations, and some new books that are on a “never ever ever ever reading that one again” list. I tried the Goodreads challenge (40 books) – and didn`t make it (I`m at 34). I tried the no-buying-books challenge too – and didn`t make it.

Let`s face it: I tried a lot of challenges, and I think outside of NaNoWriMo I failed all of them. Woops.

In terms of book reviews, there`s a similar pattern: I apparently didn`t review all the books. Which is okay! Sometimes a book just isn`t worthy reviewing, sometimes it`s such a throwaway book or it doesn`t suit the blog as much or I just didn`t have time/energy. It happens. Luckily, as you can see below, I picked up the reviewing business later on in the year!

2014 was also arguably the year of Patrick Ness. I worked my way through the better part of his books this year and loved every single one of them, as you can see in my favourites list. I still have one or two to go though, and with a new one coming up in 2015, I`m still all set!

Casually abandoning books
Some of the books I also didn`t review, are the ones I abandoned. I should really start a shelf on Goodreads (and a separate topic here on this blog) for abandoned books, even if just to serve as a reminder to myself to not touch these books again.

Here are some examples of books that I abandoned:

  • Tess of the D`urbervilles by Thomas Hardy (it was too depressing for me)
  • Het Rode Feest (The Red Feast) by Lulu Wang (couldn`t even get through the first page)
  • De Wijde Wereld van de Kleine Talen (it was more “look at all these awesome professors at this one specific university” and less “look at all these awesome rare languages” and I got very annoyed). Okay, so I did list this under “read” because I came quite far before I gave up, so you`ll see it in the masterlist below, but  since I did give up at some point I`m also counting it as abandoned. Are you confused yet? I am.

Gotta read `em all!
But in total I did read 34 books! According to Goodreads, this equals more than 12.000 pages which, to me, sounds quite impressive.

The top books I read this year, all of them with a 5/5 stars rating, are (in no particular order):
13590600
The Art of the Rise of the Guardians

Monsters-of-Men-Chaos-Walkin
Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking #3) – Patrick Ness

c36411670378dc214e8806a298dbf280
More Than This – Patrick Ness

TheCraneWife_JKF
The Crane Wife – Patrick Ness

18005644
The Secret Keeper – Kate Morton

19174917
Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

22999863
The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August – Claire North

15771083
A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

6114398
Crusade in Jeans (Kruistocht in Spijkerbroek ) – Thea Beckman

New Year`s Book Resolutions
And before I move on to the masterlist, the complete list of what I read this year, let`s talk about what I want from my books next year:

  • More books that I think I`ll like, instead of the same books everyone else is reading. If everyone else is reading a book I think I`ll enjoy as well, then great! If it doesn`t sound appealing to me, then no. Big, massive, no.
  • More diversity. I have mostly books from white, male straight authors about straight people (also often men). As a bisexual girl, this is kind of saddening. I own no book (that`s right, NO book) with a queer girl lead, and though I do have books from other cultures I`d like to have more non-US and non-UK centred books. Not everything has to be set in either the US or London, after all. There`s a whole wide world out there and I fully intend on exploring it – if not physically by travelling, then at least through books and stories.
  • Give up on the idea that I`ll ever actually finish my to-be-read stack. I`ve been trying for a couple of years, but it`s just not going to happen with the near-constant influx of books. And you know what? I kind of like it this way.
  • Re-read some more books. It`s always good to reread books, to rediscover the story or find little details I missed the first time or just for that sense of nostalgia. After all, it`s why I keep all those books around!

Masterlist time!
And now, finally, the full list of books that I`ve read this year. They`re in the order in which I read them, according to my Goodreads account, because my blog seems to be a bit of a mess at the beginning of 2014. It`s just the title, author, and the rating I gave them. If there`s a review on my blog, it`ll link to it. Have fun, and let me know which books you read this year, if you read any of the same ones and what you thought of it, and of course: if you have any recommendations for me in 2015, let me know!

Take care! ❤  

1. To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee – 4/5 stars
2. The Art of the Rise of the Guardians – Ramin Zahed – 5/5 stars
3. Tales of Mystery and Imagination – Edgar Allen Poe (by Tricia Hedge) – 2/5 stars
4. Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking #3) – Patrick Ness – 5/5 stars
5. The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) – Rick Riordan – 3/5 stars
6. Q&A – Vikus Swarup – 2/5 stars
7. Bonjour Tristesse – Francoise Sagan – 2/5 stars
8. The Jamie Oliver Effect – Gilly Smith – 3/5 stars
9. The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson #2) – Rick Riordan – 4/5 stars
10. Uncle Tom`s Cabin – Harriet Beecher Stowe – 3/5 stars
11. The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling – 4/5 stars
12. More Than This – Patrick Ness – 5/5 stars
13. De Wijde Wereld van de Kleine Talen – Dirk van Delft – 1/5 stars
14. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson – 2/5 stars
15. The Crane Wife – Patrick Ness – 5/5 stars
16. Giovanni`s Room – James Baldwin – 2/5 stars
17. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas – 4/5 stars
18. Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson – 3/5 stars
19. Expo `58 – Jonathan Coe – 2/5 stars
20. The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde – 2/5 stars
21. Robin Hood – Alexandre Dumas – 3/5 stars
22. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – Seth Grahame-Smith – 4/5 stars
23. Maurice – E.M. Forster – 4/5 stars
24. The Secret Keeper – Kate Morton – 5/5 stars
25. Necropolis: London and its Dead – Catharine Arnold – 2/5 stars
26. The Long War (The Long Earth #2) – Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter – 3/5 stars
27. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen – 2/5 stars
28. The Hunchback of the Notre Dame – Victor Hugo – 4/5 stars
29. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell – 5/5 starsl/
30. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August – Claire North – 5/5 stars
31. A Little Something Different – Sandy Hall – 1/5 stars
32. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern – 4/5 stars
33. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness – 5/5 stars
34. Crusade In Jeans – Thea Beckman – 5/5 stars

This entry was posted in books, masterpost and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

