Book review: A Little Something Different (by Sandy Hall)

Title: A Little Something Different
Author: Sandy Hall
Page count: 243 (I think)
Rating: 1/5 stars on Goodreads

20801166Blurb on Goodreads:

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together….

You know me by now: I love trying out new books, new genres, genres I thought I`d hate but give a try anyway because you gotta try it all, right?

I`m having serious second thoughts about this whole romance-thing.

You see, I finished A Little Something Different earlier today. And it was… Hm, how do I put this subtly….

Bad. So bad. Cringe-worthy horrible. Why do people like this. I`ve read better things for free. Why is this getting such high ratings on Goodreads. I don`t get it.

The plot was so promising when I first read it. I hoped it would be like one of those really cute fanfics that melts your heart and ruins you in the best way ever. I`ve read so many of those, and I can definitely love romance and fluffy stories.

I loved the idea of all those different perspectives (though I did not expect the bench and the squirrel), and it could`ve been so great. We could have had it all.

I`d even read through the reviews on Goodreads, and seeing so many people love the book, I thought oh well, let`s give it a go then.

Boy, was I wrong.We get barely any character from anyone, I have no idea what anyone looks like or what they like to do or what they actually study at that college/university/whatever it was. No one seems to actually have a life outside of making sure these two get together. I have no idea why any of them are this invested in the relationship of two strangers. I can get it from friends, but from the baristas at Starbucks?

Don`t even get me started on the creative writing teacher who has made it her personal goal to meddle in the romantic lives of just two students each year, and has no qualms whatsoever about kicking other people out of her entire course just so they can`t intervene in what is possibly an obsession.

Gabe and Lea themselves, too. What do they look like? What else do they like than coffee and each other and Buffy? What other classes are they taking? Who are they? What are they like in terms of personality, other than “shy” and “quiet” (and blind and stubborn). The amount of times Gabe hid behind being shy got annoying to say the least.

And then there`s the writing itself: dull, quick, uninspired. At some points, I felt like I was reading a romantic version of the movie The Room. There was just…nothing there. No feelings, no real build-up, no details about what characters are doing at that moment. They just come walking into a room, and start talking, and apparently stop moving or doing anything else at all.

At times I wondered if I was reading a rough draft and the story still had to be fleshed out.

I`m perfectly capable of liking romance, I know that. But this one? Didn`t do the trick.

Not recommended. To anyone. You deserve better.

(Unfortunately, outside of Fangirl and maybe Warm Bodies, I struggle to think of other romances that are actually good and deserve your attention and well-earned money.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

