Book review: Fangirl (by Rainbow Rowell)

Title: Fangirl
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Page count: 261 pages (paperback)
Rating: 5/5 stars (on Goodreads)

19174917
*This review is spoiler-free. However, if a spoiler did sneek in somewhere, let me know!


I recently came across this book in an actual bookstore nearby – which, considering the small amount of English books they have and considering I live in somewhat of a farmers region, was surprising to say the least. I`d allowed myself to buy one new book, so the choice was between this one and The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North. (I ended up buying the latter today.)

I`d heard about Fangirl before. I know it`s a very popular book in the YouTube/Tumblr community. I also knew it was about fanfiction, which was very relevant to me, as someone who has read and written fanfiction since I was 12 – literally half my life, I`m not even kidding.

For me, fanfiction made my life, I found Japanese music through Harry Potter fanfiction, fell in love with Japan and the Japanese language and went on to study it for 5 years in university. I even learned most of my English through the internet and fanfiction. So while I don`t have any of the other experiences that Cath (the main character) has, the part where she writes and loves fanfiction felt very relevant to me.

And the internet was right: from the first few pages, I knew I was going to like Fangirl. It was exactly the style I needed after all that heavy literature.

The book is very cute, a quick and easy read, not overly dramatic (dramatic things do happen but everyone comes out fine). It`s one of those books that make you feel all warm and fluffy when you finish it.

Sure, I have some issues with it: the complete lack of representation in terms of PoC and LGBT people (yay more books about white straight people?), and Levi often seems a bit too perfect.

Still, if you`re looking for something cute and fluffy, this one`s for you.

If anyone has any recommendations for me for similar books, let me know! I kind of enjoy these kinds of books, and Fangirl is currently a bit of a misfit on my very dramatic YA shelf.

EXTRA: now that I`ve read 4 books this month, I`m technically done with my challenge for #booktober! However, as I`m also still doing the 2014 reading challenge on Goodreads and I`m 3 books behind on schedule, I`m going to try to keep the pace up for a bit. Next book will be Tess of the d`Urbervilles from Thomas Hardy, and there will be another update soon about the Goodreads challenge thing.

I`m also doing the #bookadayuk tag on Twitter the whole month, a round-up will be here at the end of the month but until then, come follow me on Twitter and join the fun! Especially with NaNoWriMo coming up next month, there will probably be lots of tweeting about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book review: Fangirl (by Rainbow Rowell)

  1. Pingback: Christmas/Birthday book haul | Charlotte Blogs

  2. Pingback: Book review: Carry On (by Rainbow Rowell) – spoilerfree | Charlotte Blogs

  3. Pingback: Uplifting books for a grey January | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

