Booktober

It is October! This means several things:
-Halloween is coming up
-Autumn has really started
-Pumpkins everywhere
-Booktober!

My enthusiasm for Halloween and all things Autumn-y aside (it`s my favourite season), I especially want to talk about Booktober today.

This is a thing I know from Carrie Fletcher, who will be reading 4 books this month (where does she find the time) and is inviting everyone to join in. I won`t be reading those same 4 books, but I might try a bit harder to actually read books this month.

However, today, for the first time in a very, VERY long time, I gave up on a book within the first couple of pages. I made it about 4 or 5 pages into Het Rode Feest (The Red Feast) by Lulu Wang, thought to myself: `nope` and closed the book. It`s now on the designated spot on my floor for Things I`m Bringing to the Goodwill Shop.

It was just so badly written. I couldn`t help it. Maybe it improved later on, maybe it didn`t, I`ll never find out and to be honest, I don`t really care either.

Still, not a very good start to Booktober. So instead I`m going to try one of the books I`ve been looking forward to reading: The Long War by Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter.

I`ll let you guys know what I think of it.

In the meantime, let me know what you guys are reading and what you think of it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Booktober

  1. toddsbal says:

    I absolutely love, and may I say, am obsessed with Halloween and the Autumn season. Enlighten me, what is Booktober? I’ve never heard of it, although I’m an avid Book reader and moderate Book blogger.

    • kojitmal says:

      To be honest, I always thought booktober was just a month about books, but it turns out there`s a bit more to it: http://www.roomtoread.org/booktober
      I heard from it through Carrie Hope Fletcher, who made a video about what she`s reading this month and about Books Are My Bag (a campaign to support IRL bookstores): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4w9qhwQVDy4

      And YES, autumn & halloween are the best and then we get the run-up to holiday season (and my birthday) and everything is great.

      • toddsbal says:

        My birthday is fifteen days before, and it makes me love October even more.

        And thank you for the links! I really had no clue, and as a partial book blogger I do want to participate in things like that.

Leave a Reply

