Practising drawing

Writing has been a part of me my whole life. I wrote fan fiction and regular fiction in high school, I`ve joined nanowrimo a couple of times now, I have this blog of course. Writing I`m okay with. I`m not particularly good at it, but also not particularly bad as far as I know.

Drawing, however, is something else entirely. I`m notoriously bad at drawing.

However, as you might have noticed, I started a YouTube channel where all I do is explain things through drawings. This has proven to be an interesting experience so far.

My level of drawing seems to be stuck at first grade stick figures – and badly drawn stick figures at that. So before anyone asks if I`m doing the simple style on purpose: I`m just simply not capable of doing more than this.

But I don`t like backing down from a challenge, and as they say: real creativity is shown within limits. Give someone a set of rules and limits, and they are forced to use their creativity to find a way around it. I`m not usually very creative in terms of finding solutions, but I like to think I`m doing a pretty good job of it on YouTube right now.

I`ve been practising as well, and I`ve been trying to develop a more personal style (and failing somewhat). Look, I have proof:

If you look, you can see the first drawings for my next science video as well.

If you look closely, you can see the first drawings for my next science video as well.

There are a couple of ideas in terms of video making I want to try, so you might see some different styles pop up soon.  

In the meantime, I`d like to know: how many other people here are just really bad at drawing? Do you some of you who are good at it have any tips for me? Any ideas on how to improve aside from “just keep working on it”? Let me know down in the comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

