(SORT-OF) MID YEAR BOOK REVIEW ROUND UP

For the second consecutive year I am doing a book challenge at Goodreads.com. I tried to read 50 books last year (and failed), so I lowered it to 40 books this year (and still failing, I`m currently 4 books behind on schedule).

Still, since I finished The Picture of Dorian Gray last night, which is my 20th book this year, I`m officially halfway through! So I thought I`d do a round-up, give y`all the links to the reviews I`ve written and a quick overview of my opinions so far.

Here`s what I`ve read so far (in chronological order) :

1)To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee) – 4/5 stars
2)The Art of Rise of the Guardians – 5/5 stars
3)Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Edgar Allan Poe) – 2/5 stars
4)Monsters of Men – Chaos Walking #3 (Patrick Ness) – 4/5 stars
5)Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief (Rick Riordan) – 3/5 stars
6) Q&A (Vikas Swarup) – 2/5 stars
7)Bonjour Tristesse (Francois Sagan) – 1/5 stars
8)The Jamie Oliver Effect (Gilly Smith) – 2/5 stars
9)Percy Jackson & The Sea of Monsters (Rick Riordan) 3/5 stars
10)Uncle Tom`s Cabin (Harriet Beecher Stowe) 3/5 stars
11)The Casual Vacancy (JK Rowling) – 4/5 stars
12)More Than This (Patrick Ness) – 5/5 stars
13)De Wereld  van de Kleine Talen – 0/5 stars
14)The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Stieg Larsson) – 2/5 stars
15)The Crane Wife (Patrick Ness) – 5/5 stars
16)Giovanni`s Room (James Baldwin) – 1/5 stars
17)The Three Musketeers (Alexandre Dumas) – 4/5 stars
18)Treasure Island (Robert Louis Stevenson) – 3/5 stars
19)Expo `58 (Jonathan Coe) – 2/5 stars
20)The Picture of Dorian Gray (Oscar Wilde) – 2/5 stars

And this is the awkward moment where I realise I`ve only written 7 reviews for 20 books. There can be several reasons for this, but in most cases it means I hated the book and wanted nothing more to do with it (the case for books like Giovanni`s Room and Bonjour Tristesse, which I consider pretentious bullshit). In other cases I was left with no opinion about it, just a kind of blank sheet, and in a couple of cases I just simply couldn`t be bothered and moved on.

All in all, I`m not particularly happy yet with this year`s selection of books. Some of my new favourites are in this list (all the Patrick Ness books), and I definitely enjoyed a lot of these. But there are so many books I either thought were boring or just plain-out hated – one or two I even gave up on halfway through because they annoyed me too much (De Wereld van de Kleine Talen, which I thought would be about rare languages but turned out to be a bunch of professor`s at a Dutch university talking about how hard their life is because they had to move to a smaller office to make something work. Like no, just no.)

I`ve also dubbed this year the `year of the classics`, as you can see by the sheer amount of classic literature on the list. I have a lot more classics on my stacks of to-read books so expect more of those soon.

Here`s to hoping that the next 20 books will be better and more interesting!

Take care!

(Next book: Robin Hood, by Alexandre Dumas)

 

P.S. If there`s a book on the list that you`d like to see a review of anyway, let me know in the comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (SORT-OF) MID YEAR BOOK REVIEW ROUND UP

  1. rheapatel22 says:

    Your blog is great! I was hoping that you could kindly read my new post and like or comment on it if you found it interesting?

Leave a Reply

