Thoughts on podcasts (or, really, one specific podcast)

Being the slow adapter that I am, there is a very long list of “things I did not expect to enjoy when I first heard of them”. There`s a slightly shorter list of “things I do enjoy, surprisingly”. And newly added to this list: podcasts.

No really, I always considered podcasts a strange thing I would never enjoy. I tried a while ago with Welcome to Night Vale, which I could simply not get in to, and I never really bothered with another podcast. Shame on me, I know. Like I said, I`m a slow adapter, and I`m aware of it. I very much have a tendency to scoff at everything new and declare it silly and useless without ever even trying, just to come around and declare it amazing (usually) after a while.

With podcasts though, a different issue also came up. Thing is: I`m very bad at just listening to things. I need something to do in the mean time, something that doesn`t take my attention away from the podcast. This may sound easy, but with a mind that literally does not ever shut up, this is tricky to say the least.

However, I found the perfect solution. As I may have mentioned in a previous post, I`ve taken to walking and cycling a lot. I also happen to have gotten somewhat bored with always just listening to music.

And then something came along on YouTube one day: a podcast called Hello Internet, by CGP Grey (known for his YouTube channel “CGP Grey”) and Brady Haran (mostly known for YouTube channels like Numberphile, and roughly a gazillion other channels apparently). They put the first ever episode up on YouTube, I listened to it at home while doing absolutely nothing, and fell asleep halfway through.

But I continued listening to it anyway, found out I could download  11 episodes on iTunes, so I put one or two of them on my music player and went outside, walking and cycling around aimlessly while listening to the podcast. (I`ve gotten lost once or twice because I was focusing on the podcast instead of which road I was going, so that`s been fun as well).

I`m now at episode 10, and with episodes regularly lasting over 90 minutes I think that says something about whether or not I like this show.

I think what I like the most so far, is the idea that with podcasts I can turn this hour-of-randomly-walking-for-the-sake-of-being-outside into something more educative and useful. It feels much less like I`m wasting my time by not doing anything when I`m outside besides just walking or cycling in circles through town. Which is silly anyway, considering the amount of time I waste at home, but the idea still stands. 

Right now Hello Internet is the only podcast I really listen to though, which means I`m on the lookout for other, interesting podcasts! I`m specifically looking for interesting podcasts on psychology and/or science, though I`m up for other suggestions too. Do any of you guys listen to podcasts? If so, do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know down in the comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on podcasts (or, really, one specific podcast)

  1. Pingback: My favourite podcasts | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

