5 favourite Christmas movies

If you`re anything like me, you`ll love your movies. You`ll love spending a large part of your Christmas watching movies, and you`ll be kind of tired of watching Home Alone and the Grinch and the Gremlins.

Even if, admittedly, Gizmo will always be kind of cute and watching the Gremlins have fun with New York, New York, will be forever be a strange form of childhood nostalgia for me.

However, people grow up, and every now and then I would like to see a different Christmas movie for a change. So I thought, let`s recommend some slightly (but only slightly) different Christmas movies!

Here are 5 of my favourite Christmas(sy) movies. Let me know if you enjoy these as well!

1:Catch me if you can (2002)
The story about Frank Abagnale Jr, the teenager who lied his way to millions of dollars and different professions, always staying steps ahead of the FBI, all before his 19th birthday.
This is actually one of my all-time favourite films, and I have seen it countless times. And it`s Christmas related! A lot of the main scenes are set on or around Christmas, even if they aren`t always flinging it in your face. Yes, there are the obvious scenes with the choirs and the trees and the music, but there are also very saddening, dramatic scenes with just some basic Christmas decoration in the background. Christmas is used as a way of pointing out the important scenes, and to help you keep check of the development and the timeline of the movie. It`s also a very stunning movie, put together brilliantly, and I recommend watching it at any season outside of Christmas as well.

2:Love Actually (2003)
One of my guilty pleasures, if it wasn`t for the fact that I don`t do guilty pleasures. It`s one of the few movies distinctly about love that I actually enjoy, and one of the main reasons for it is its typical British dry humour. Then aside from that, there`s the romance (that I do actually enjoy), the sheer amount of Christmas feeling thrown at you, and did I mention the humour yet?

3:The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992)
Muppets. Christmas. Need I say more? I mean come on: Muppets!
I have been a lifelong Muppet fan, shown a bit more evidently by the multiple DVD collections and plushies throughout my room. So a Christmas movie with the Muppets and their odd sense of humour is always a good thing for me.

4:Beauty & The Beast (1991)
Ah yes, far off places, daring swordfights, magic spells, a prince in disguise!
And all of that set in winter, with a heaping of that amazing Disney magic and romance. How is this not Christmassy?
In all honesty, aside from Frozen (that I haven`t seen yet, which is why it didn`t make this list), this is the only Disney film I can think of from the top of my head that`s so suitable to watch during Christmas. Yes, I know that Disney in general is very much a Christmas thing, but I consider a lot of their movies very distinctly summer movies (like Tangled). This one though, with its snow fights and library and castle and getting cosy in front of the fire? Definitely good for Christmas.

5:Rise of the Guardians (2012)
This one is pretty much a given, considering how often I talk about this film and the original book series. But yes, RotG is definitely a Christmas movie. And easter, easter is good as well. The movie is largely set around that time, after all. But with both Jack Frost and Santa being there, and with the general message of hope and staying true to yourself, I couldn`t leave it out of this list. Just go and watch it, words don`t do it justice.

And on that note, I wish everyone here a very merry christmas (if you celebrate), or just very nice days in general (if you don`t celebrate)! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 favourite Christmas movies

  1. Pingback: Happy holidays! | Charlotte Blogs

Leave a Reply

