Book reviews: Autumn masterpost

I may have given up on the 50 book challenge. I may have given up on nanowrimo. I may be busy with a temporary job. But does this mean I stopped reading books as well? Of course not!

I am currently reading two books:
The Angel`s Game, by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, which is a stunning book, very atmospheric, mysterious and intriguing, but also a bit too much like Shadow of the Wind and a bit heavy on the religious analysis. So I put it aside for the moment, to instead read The Ask and the Answer, part 2 in the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. As a YA series, it`s much easier to read than The Angel`s Game, but also very interesting and addicting. A must read for anyone interested in YA dystopia (which is all the hype anyway, lucky for me as I love me some good dystopia`s).

I read quite some books before this for which I didn`t write reviews though, and I do apologize for that. I know a lot of you follow me because of books and book reviews, and I feel a bit guilty for not updating about books more often.

So to make up for it, here are some quick reviews for all the books I read since the last major update post! (Which is, by the way, this  50 books challenge: midway update that I posted back in September. Yes, that long ago. Again, I apologize for my lack of anything).

I`m at book 35, so it`s 9 short reviews. Let`s go!

Starting with book #27 of this year: “The Ocean at the End of the Lane”, by Neil Gaiman.
The first adult novel Neil Gaiman has written in a long time (apparently, I haven`t exactly been keeping track) and it`s about childhood. It was a nice read, definitely interesting, entertaining, and very rich in imagination. I was lost in the strange world he created for a while, but admittedly once I finished the book I also mostly forgot about it again. Still, might re-read it soon. 3/5 stars.

#28:  Extra`s (Scott Westerfeld, part 4 of the Specials trilogy)
An unplanned 4 part for a planned trilogy that I absolutely adore, it`s obviously an added part, an extra in itself, and the quality of the story reflects the pressure for writing this. It pales in comparison to the 3 original books, and while it had very interesting parts, the book mostly felt a bit lacking. Still entertaining and thought-provoking though. 3/5 stars.

#29:  Beautiful Chaos (Gary Russell – Doctor Who tie in book)
The first ever Doctor Who book I read, on the day that I also visited the Doctor Who experience in Cardiff. It was (admittedly unexpectedly) a very entertaining read. Not particularly high quality, but it felt like the literary equivalent of a Doctor Who episode, which should tell you all you need to know about this book. I loved it, but then again, I am quite a Whovian. 4/5 stars, but only if you`re already a fan.

#30:  The Knife of Never Letting Go (Patrick Ness, part 1 of Chaos Walking)
Like I mentioned before, this is a YA dystopia novel, a genre I`m generally quite fond of. I`d heard about this book through someone mentioning it on Tumblr, and it caught my interest immediately. It`s a strange concept, with a world where you can hear men`s thoughts (and the animals, too), but once you get over that little hitch and start properly reading it, it`s actually an amazing book that I recommend. Complex, intriguing, original. 4/5 stars.

#31: Off With Their Heads! All the cool bits in British history (Martin Oliver)
A quick and quirky summary of British history, that I bought in Scotland at Roslin Chapel. It was an interesting read, and I`m glad for the newfound information on what was going in the Tudor era. It did still get dreary at points though, and the humour gets very repetitive. But for anyone who`s interested in (British) history presented in a better way than mere dry facts, I`d say 3/5 stars.

#32 & 33: The Silent Stars Go By (Dan Arnett ) & Only Human (Gareth Roberts)
Two more Doctor Who tie-in books, and it`s the same opinion as the one up above: they`re like reading a Doctor Who episode. Although in the written forms a bit more is possible thanks to a technically unlimited special effects  budget. Very interesting reads, with some interesting reflections on humanity and modern life, but mostly interesting if you`re already a Whovian to begin with. 4/5 stars.

#34: The Long Earth (Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter)
Hands down one of the most interesting, complex and thought-provoking yet also humorous books I`ve read in a long time, and I can`t wait to get my hands on part 2 (I asked it for my birthday). It`s funny, it`s entertaining, and I can`t say too much without either spoiling things or ending up with an explanation for this very strange world that`s as long as the list of extra Earths. Which is a theoretically endless amount. 5/5 stars, and a definite recommendation for anyone who`s  okay with strange sci-fi ish concepts.

#35:  Toothiana – queen of the tooth fairy armies (William Joyce, part 3 in the Guardians of Childhood series)
As a big fan of the Guardians of Childhood books and the movie, I promised this book to myself for reaching the halfway point at nanowrimo. I did not make it to the end, but I did make the halfway point so here it is! And I loved it. Joyce is really deepening the storyline, characters are progressing, there is development and excitement all over the place. These may be children`s books, and the large letters and somewhat simple language are a dead giveaway, but the story itself is anything but childish. Dealing with orphans, loss of loved ones, loneliness, and how people deal with these feelings, and that in a children`s book, combined with amazing art? Sign me right up. 5/5 stars.

So there we are, slightly more caught up with book reviewing, and hopefully from now on I can do proper reviews again!

In the meantime, let me know what you`ve been reading and what you would recommend to me?

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

