Fanmix yourself

I spend a lot of time on Tumblr. Many would argue too much time. They`d be completely right.

But between all the nonsense and the kittens and the fandom drama, every now and then (which means every 10 minutes or so) something interesting comes along. And so, just now, this came along:

fanmix yourself template by: samantha & meghan
01. a song that makes you want to fall in love 02. your favorite pump up song 03. your favorite song to rock out to 04. a song that reminds you of summer 05. your favorite cover of a song 06. a song you sing in the shower 07. a song that reminds you of someone 08. what you want your wedding song to be 09. your favorite 90s/2000s song 10. a song to heal a heartbreak 11. your favorite song from a girl group 12. a song you know all the lyrics to 13. your favorite oldies rock song 14. a song by your favorite artist 15. a song that you like to fall asleep to 16. a song that makes you feel invincible 17. a song that makes you feel better when you’re down 18. your favorite holiday song 19. a song that is from a genre of music you don’t usually listen to 20. a song you associate with your favorite book”

So here we go, my own fanmix!

01. a song that makes you want to fall in love
Alex Day – This Kiss (featuring Carrie Hope Fletcher)

There`s just something about this song, that`s so lovely. Is it the way their voices work together? The fact the two of them are holding hands in this video? The (albeit very cheesy) lyrics? I don`t know, but truth is that I really like this song. Makes me feel a bit fuzzy inside, and makes me infinitely jealous of all the people who get to have kisses with other people.

02. your favorite pump up song
Muse – Knights of Cydonia

Beginning of this year, somewhere around February probably, me and my housemates had the brilliant idea that we wanted to get more fit and healthy. So we started running. We had new shoes and a proper schedule and everything. The fad kind of died within a couple of months, but I do remember this song being particularly useful in keeping me going.

03. your favorite song to rock out to
Styx – Renegade

I got to know this song through the tv drama Supernatural, but oh am I ever so glad to get to know this song. I like the whole thing, but especially the part where they start again with the basic melody straight after that amazing guitar riff. Oh those guitars. Something about them just tug at me in the right way every time.

04. a song that reminds you of summer
Tohoshinki – Summer Dream

Oh come on, it even has “summer” in the title. Also, I never said I always have good taste in music. But songs like these definitely make me happy and want to run around in sunshine and just have fun. In these dreary winters, I`m sure we can all use some summery songs, right?

05. your favorite cover of a song
Ed Sheeran ft. Passenger – No Diggity / Thrift Shop

I adore songs like these. Two beautiful voices, working together to just have so much fun. For some reason, this song is also very calming to me. Maybe it`s the combination of only the voices with acoustic guitars, maybe it`s their general style. I just know I love this song, and have been listening to it almost daily for a very long time now.

06. a song you sing in the shower

I don`t actually sing in the shower (gasp! Shock! I know – too busy generally with thinking up new plots for novels and new ideas for YouTube videos). This means that if I even sing anything at all, it`d just be whatever`s stuck in my head, which can literally be anything. I once ended up with Aqua`s Barbie Girl popping up in my head after not having heard it for years. It didn`t leave for several days.

07. a song that reminds you of someone
Journey – Don`t Stop Believing

Be prepared for a sad story. This song reminds me of someone, who I won`t name. But suffice to say I had developed quite a major crush on this person over the span of just a couple of days. One night, we ended up dancing together, at the end of the festival where we met. One of the songs we danced to was this one, and the moment stuck with me.

I kept talking to him, even after the festival ended and we both went our separate ways. We agreed to meet up about a week and a half later, in a different city. He was taking me out for dinner. I was so happy, convinced by so many people it was a genuine date, though I still wasn`t so sure myself. I heard this song playing in a shop when I, giddy at the thought of seeing him, was buying some nice jewelry for myself. I left the shop smiling.
The next evening, we met up, and it failed horribly. There was no spark, nothing whatsoever. We had dinner, and a couple of drinks, and then he almost rushed off to his hotel, leaving me to walk back to mine by myself. I felt horrible, walked back crying.

This song still makes me feel that rush of emotions from those events. It still reminds me of him, of that evening we danced, and of the evening that I (ironically) stopped believing that love is something I will ever get to experience.

08. what you want your wedding song to be
Joe Hisaishi – Life`s Merry Go Round (人生のメリーゴーラウンド) – Howl`s Moving Castle OST

Ironic, this one. Considering the previous song.

Still, this is one of the few songs in this list I immediately know. Howl`s Moving Castle being one of my all-time favourite films, and then with this song as the ending, literally made for a waltz? I want this song to be the first one to play when the dancing begins and the wedded couple (me, of course, with whoever my partner will be) opens the dance floor. I want to swirl around on that floor in my wedding dress, doing the waltz with my partner, in a Beauty and the Beast-esque scene except in real life.

09. your favorite 90s/2000s song
Sugababes – Ugly

The Sugababes have long been one of my favourite groups, even with the constantly changing line up. This song specifically, is so uplifting and reassuring to me. I have never been particularly pretty, I still don`t consider myself attractive or pretty no matter what people tell me. But this song helps me feel better about myself anyway.

10. a song to heal a heartbreak
Arashi – Aozora Pedal  (please mind: non-YouTube link)

Not as much a song to heal a heartbreak as more to wallow in it horribly. You`ll understand when you watch the video. It`s one of those gut-wrenching heart-breaking one-sided love type of things, and having gone through this several times, it hurts but in a strangely good way.

11. your favorite song from a girl group
Kalafina  – Red Moon

This song is so powerful, filled with so much raw emotion, it hits me again every time I hear it. I love it to bits. Definitely love singing along to it as well.

12. a song you know all the lyrics to
Pocahontas – Colours of the Wind (Dutch)

Well. There`s a lot of songs I know all the lyrics to, but one particularly fun one to sing along to is Colours of the Wind from Pocahontas. I adore the Dutch version (a rarity for me, as I don`t usually even watch Disney in Dutch). This is partially because it`s sung by Pia Douwes, who is one of my favourite Dutch musical stars. But I can sing the Dutch lyrics straight over any other language, I can sing them without the music to accompany me. Then again, I did literally grow up with this song, having watched Pocahontas so often the tape literally turned a bit weird and vague. I even had the songs on cassette (yes, I`m old enough to remember those).

13. your favorite oldies rock song
Elvis – Burning Love

Hmm, tough pick between so many oldies that I love. Do I pick the Beatles? Elvis? The Monkeys? Should I pick something more recent, and look at the 80`s?

I decided to pick the first song to come to mind, which is Burning Love from Elvis Presley. Aside from it being catchy, it cheers me up immensely, makes me want to wear polkadot skirts and ballerina`s and go to diners to get a milkshake. It also reminds me of Lilo & Stitch, which is where I first got to know the song. I adore that film, it`s one of the movies I watch when I`m down and it has never failed to make me feel better.

14. a song by your favourite artist
Ayaka Hirahara – Ashita

I don`t even have a favourite artist! No really: there`s a lot of artists that I absolutely love and that have meant a lot to me. There`s Muse, Arashi, DBSK, the Beatles, the list just never ends. So here`s the song I always claim to be my favourite anyway. It`s a slightly different version from the one I have on my computer, but it`s a great song anyway.
It`s part of the OST of a Japanese drama called Yasashii Jikan, which is set on the northern island of Hokkaido. The drama starts off all calm and relaxing, and turns more dramatic as you go along, but it`s such a great drama. I definitely recommend it. The atmosphere is amazing, and this song fits the drama perfectly in every way.

15. a song that you like to fall asleep to
Cho Kyuhyun – Smile

A solo song by one of the many members of Korean group Super Junior, Kyuhyun`s voice was always my favourite. Such a warm, deep voice for someone so young, and then combined with a song like this. Just send me off to heaven straight away why don`t you. I definitely don`t mind falling asleep to these dulcet tones, even if I have no idea whatsoever what he`s singing. In fact, I think that makes it even better.

16. a song that makes you feel invincible 
2NE1 – I AM THE BEST (내가 제일 잘 나가) 

Something completely different from the last two songs, but here we go. Put this song on, and I`ll suddenly raise my chin, walk with a more confident stride, and feel much better.
I have liked 2NE1 since their debut, and it`s always been their songs like this one that made me feel better and more confident. I also adore their fashion, even if it`s often quite silly. I now have a tendency to listen to their music while shopping for new clothing, because it helps me look at clothing differently.

17. a song that makes you feel better when you’re down
Tohoshinki – Heart, Mind and Soul

Yes, second time this group is in this list. They`re just really a favourite of mine. Those vocals, those 5 amazing voices that work perfectly as one.

Aside from loving their music in general, they hold a bit of a special place for me. I listened to this group when my mother was in the hospital with 2 tumors in her brain. I listened to this group when things got rough at uni (which they often did). I listened to this group when I was alone for most of new year`s eve. Their music, their voices, they calm me down when I`m upset and make me feel better. They make me want to work harder at life (plus they`re real fun to sing along to). Yes, a lot of their songs are very cheesy, but I like cheesy songs.

18. your favorite holiday song
LANDS – 二十歳の戦争

Again, there`s a story behind it. I actually link this song to my vacation in Japan. I studied in Japan for 4 months, then went travelling for a month. During that month travelling, I fell in love with this album, OLYMPOS, by the band LANDS. Now, LANDS, is not an actual band: it`s fictional. It was made for a film, and the lead singer of this band was also the lead actor, Jin Akanishi.

I listened to this song so often in that month, especially on Okinawa, that even now, 3 years later, I link it to Okinawa. Whenever I hear it, I`m right back on that bus driving past the coastline, on my way to the huge aquarium they have there (Churaumi). It felt like such a typical movie scene back then, just a small town girl on her own on a bus on a tropical island on the other side of the world.

19. a song that is from a genre of music you don’t usually listen to 
Bløf – Harder Dan Ik Hebben Kan

I don`t usually listen to Dutch music. I don`t like the language, and hearing it in song doesn`t help. However, there are a couple of exceptions I`ll make, and this band is one of them. There`s something about this music, that calms me down, soothes me.

20. a song you associate with your favorite book
The Flaming Lips – Vein Of Stars

Since I can`t think of anything that I associate with either Harry Potter or with Donna Tartt`s A Secret History, I`m just going to pick something else.

I don`t usually associate songs with books anyway, they`re two separate things for me. I do, however, listen to a lot of fanmixes and then listen to them while reading either books or fanfiction, and while I rarely associate songs with books, I do definitely associate them fanfiction or characters. Don`t ask me why, I don`t know.

This song, Vein of Stars, was in a fanmix called “The Devil has a Daughter”, which was made for Pitch. A character in the Guardians of Childhood books by William Joyce and the accompanying movie Rise of the Guardians, Pitch is known as the boogeyman, the “devil” so to speak. He used to be known, however, as General Kozmotis Pitchiner. He had a daughter, Seraphina. But as General in an army, he was someone who had to chase and round up fearlings. He also ended up having to watch them, make sure they didn`t escape prison. The fearlings then used Seraphina`s voice to trick Kozmotis. They took him over, and he turned into the evil Pitch we known him as now.

But as you can imagine, I have a lot of Pitch feelings. Hell, I have a lot of Guardians of Childhood/ Rise of the Guardians feelings to begin with.

~*~

So there we go, my list of music! Let me know what you think, and if you have a song you want to share, let me know down in the comments. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

