50 books challenge: midway update!

I have officially made it halfway through my 50-books-in-one-year challenge! In fact, I`m already past it, since I finished another book since I reached the halfway point last week.

I am aware that I`m about 3 months late with reaching this point. Goodreads is kind enough to calculate everything for me, and it`s currently telling me I`m 7 books (16%) behind on schedule. But the most important thing to me right now is that I`m here, halfway, in the first place. It has been quite the journey so far, and though I`m roughly 110% sure that I`m not going to reach 50 books this year, I`m glad with every book I finish right now.

The reason for being very slow (aside from INTERNET), is that I`m actually very busy lately. With the UK trip, a sudden social life, and loads of other things, reading has not been on the top of my list of things-to-do. I do still try to read a bit every day, but I simply don`t manage to read every day.

There have also been some difficult and/or science-y books that took a lot of time to finish, causing me to fall behind simply because I had to read slowly to grasp what was happening.

For those of you wondering: “so where are the missing book reviews then? Because there aren`t 25 book reviews on this blog here”. I know. I know. I didn`t start doing book reviews until later into the year, so there`s a bunch right at January/February-ish that I haven`t reviewed and likely won`t review anytime soon either.

There`s another three books that I finished the past week or so. These will get book reviews. Eventually. I`m hoping to get them done before I leave for the UK, which would mean a sudden influx of book reviews for your entertainment, but I`m not making any promises.

For now, here`s a list of all 26 books I`ve read this year, in the order in which I read them. You know, in case you`re looking for books to read. I will add the links to the reviews later:

 

  1. The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)
  2. Harry Potter: Film & Wizardry
  3. Uglies (Scott Westerfeld)
  4. Catching Fire (Suzanne Collins)
  5. Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)
  6. Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Lewis Carroll)
  7. The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window And Disappeared (Jonas Jonasson)
  8. The House of Silk (Anthony Horowitz)
  9. Warm Bodies (Isaac Marion)
  10. The Measure of All Things (Ken Alder)
  11. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)
  12. Howl`s Moving Castle (Diana Wynne Jones)
  13. Horseradish (Lemony Snicket)
  14. The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald)
  15. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
  16. The Elephant Keeper (Christopher Nicholson)
  17. World War Z (Max Brooks)
  18. The Three-Cornered World (Natsume Soseki)
  19. The Gods of Gotham (Lyndsay Faye)
  20. E. Aster Bunnymund (William Joyce)
  21. Pretties (Scott Westerfeld)
  22. Red Dragon (Thomas Harris)
  23. Nicholas St. North (William Joyce)
  24. A Briefer History of Time (Stephen Hawking)
  25. The Jungle Book (Rudyard Kipling)
  26. Specials (Scott Westerfeld)

So that`s the list so far! If you have any recommendations for me, based on this list, then let me know down in the comments. I have a huge list of books-to-read, but I don`t mind adding more to them.

In the meantime, keep up with what I`m reading/have read through Goodreads, where I can be found through the link in the sidebar (the one that also shows what I`m reading right now, which at the time of posting is nothing, as I just finished Specials and am still reeling from that action-filled world). 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 books challenge: midway update!

  1. Pingback: Kojitmal

Leave a Reply

