Book review: The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)

Title: The Little Prince
Author: Antoine de Saint-Exupery
Rating: 5/5 stars

Image

I have to admit that I actually read this book several times before. The only difference with this time being, that I actually understood it much, much better this time. I`m blaming the French language (and my lack of speaking it) for that. But I first read it in French class in high school, and I think I still have that copied, French version lying around somewhere.

But now that I finally read this in English, I`ve come to realise much more about this book.

For example, I now finally realise that this book might be aimed at children, and I`m sure it`s quite enjoyable for children at that, but oh do I recommend all adults to read this.

This book is a direct jab at adulthood, and all of the strange things that come with it. It shows very clearly that our society is really kind of insane and weird, and that it makes no sense.

Like the banker who thought counting the stars was the most important thing to do, or the King who needed to have everything and everyone at his command, the adults in this book show us how ridiculous this world actually is in a very confronting way.

This book teaches us that maybe, taking care of each other and realising how special other people are might be the most important thing there actually is. Never mind counting the stars for the sake of filing them and then selling them. It`s that one star that`s yours that`s most important.

This tiny little book is capable of teaching very important lessons, while never forgetting that childish curiosity of asking “why?” at everything. It`s a good book if you have Peter Pan syndrome, or maybe just if you`re actually 5 years old.

And I loved every moment of it. 

 

 

 

 

Silly adults. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book review: The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)

  1. cellenbogen says:

    I’ve always wanted to read this. Now I will. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

