Monday morning motivation

I was talking to one of my friends the other day, and she said something along the lines of “I would like to do reviews on my blog, but I can`t write reviews. I don`t know how. All I know when I read a book is if I like it or not.”

My response was: “just write them anyway.”

You see, if there`s one thing I`ve learned in my 23 years on this planet (and I haven`t learned that much), then it`s this:

If you don`t know how to do something, or you`re scared of doing something, then that`s all the more reason to go and do it anyway.

Most of the time, the only thing stopping you from doing something, is insecurity. You don`t know what`s going to happen, you might fail, people might laugh, it`s nice and comfy in your little bubble, your own comfort zone. And yes I agree that it`s sometimes (okay, quite often) scary to try something new. It`s much easier to just say “I can`t” or “I don`t know how”. Actually doing something new takes courage and energy, and the idea can be daunting. I know that.

But  when you actually go and do whatever it is you want to do? You`ll be surprised at how often the oh-so-scary thing turns out to be quite easy, and not all that scary after all. You know more than you think, and you`re capable of doing more than you think. And by doing something new, you might just find yourself a new skill, or a new hobby, or at the very least a  new experience and the chance of getting to say: “at least I tried.”

Because if you don`t at least try, you`ll get nowhere.

So get out there, get out of your comfort zone, and find new and exciting things to do! Even if it`s just to write a review of a book, or start a new job you didn`t think you could do, or learn something new like programming or cooking or sewing. It might make your life a bit more scary every now and then, but in the end you`ll be happier for it.

Trust me.

And if it doesn`t work out? You`ll have learned, and you can move on to the next thing. But you won`t know until you try. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

