50 Books Challenge: end-of-March update

This is a massive post. I`m so sorry. Bear with me?

I keep forgetting to update about my 50 Books Challenge! I am currently on book 10, though it`s a bit complicated. Technically I`m now reading book #7, while book#1 is pushed somewhere to the bottom of the stack and I finished book #10 a couple of days ago. Was I supposed to read books in one order? I don`t even know anymore. MY CHALLENGE MY RULES. Or something.

This does mean that, according to the very helpful statistics from Goodreads, I am now 3 books behind on schedule if I want to make it through all 50 books this year. Oh dear.

Anyway, quick review time first! And yes I know it`s not the end of March yet. Shuttit. 

Just to point out: I won`t be giving you summaries of the books, but only my own opinion of them in short.

So here we go, an update of all the books so far (in the order in which I read them) with very short reviews:

1)      Les Misérables, by Victor Hugo

Image
I`m at page 60/329340937094380 or something I think. It`s the book that got kind of pushed down to the bottom of the huge stack, because it`s just a LOT of pages, I get impatient, and I get frustrated with the slow pace and the long-running sentences. I might pick it up again later, now that I`m getting a bit faster at reading again, but back in January this was just too much. And there are so many other tempting books, just waiting for me to read them!

 

2. The Hunger Games (1), by Suzanne Collins

Image

It took me a grand total of 2 days to read this book, which I think is quite telling. I enjoyed it, obviously. I personally did expect a bit more Battle Royale-esque scenarios, so it wasn`t what I expected, but it was still good. Not a literary masterpiece, but entertaining enough. Plus it was an easy read, which is a plus for me.

 

 

3. Harry Potter Film Wizardry
Image
 
Not a novel, but a book on behind-the-scenes of the movies, with extra information, interviews, production notes, and a whole lot of goodies that will make any fan squeal. I`m a HUGE Harry Potter nerd (if you don`t believe me: go watch my latest video on being a Ravenclaw), so I absolutely loved this book. If it wasn`t for the fact that I can barely/not pay my rent as it is, and the book is quite expensive, I`d have bought it long ago. Alas, it will have to wait until I have a proper income.

4. Uglies, by Scott Westerfeld

Image
This book, I LOVED. I have a thing for YA dystopia`s, apparently. (And so do a lot of other people,  judging from their popularity). But I loved the concept of the book, I loved how it made you think about where we`re going with this society, and it was overall a very exciting, high-tension, awesome book. I`m still looking for the next books in the same design as this one, so I`m waiting with reading the next part of the series until I have it, which might take a while. )=

5. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games 2), by Suzanne Collins

Image
My least favourite part of the trilogy. I thought it started off okay, but then the storyline just plummeted and didn`t pick back up again until halfway through the next book. I kind of forced myself through it, because I felt like now I started it I had to finish the series. But I wouldn`t easily read it again now.

 

 

 

6. Mockingjay (The Hunger Games 3), by Suzanne Collins
Image
Like I said at the previous book, I felt like the storyline of the trilogy didn`t pick up in pace and excitement again until halfway through this one. But once it did? Man it sure as hell did. I went from “meh” to “oh wow” to “SOBBING”. By the time I`d finished it, I felt like I was the one traumatised, in one of those “I don`t know what to do with my life now” ways. Overall, I think the series could have been better, but it was entertaining enough and I am glad I did give them a chance. Still, they`re not very high up on my priority list of “BOOKS TO BUY ASAP”.

7. The Measure of All Things, by Ken Alder

Image
I`m still reading this one, even though I started it on February 2, apparently. It`s a difficult read, the author has a tendency to turn melodramatic at strange moments, and it gets dry and technical at other times. Sometimes the story completely derails into international politics or ponderings about love and life. It keeps it interesting, but at the same time it keeps from what the author is trying to tell: the (admittedly very interesting) story of how our metric system came into existence. I would only recommend this if you`re a big nerd, or if you`re interested in these kind of things to begin with.

8. Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carroll
Image
I know these two stories are of the category “everyone loves them so you have to love them too”, but in all honesty? I didn`t. Just not my thing, I guess? I did like some parts of Through the Looking Glass, but those were all parts outside of Wonderland. Again, glad I read them, but not something I`d reread anytime soon.

 

 


9. The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared, by Jonas Jonasson

Image
I have done a longer review on this already, right here , but just in short: again, not my kind of story. It was a bit too incredulous, I felt like it lacked any emotion, the humour was not really my thing, and overall I just thought “meh”. Probably just me though, considering its current popularity.

 

 

 

10. The House of Silk, by Anthony Horowitz
Image
I did love this one! Again, I`ve done a longer review on this one here, but overall I thought this book was exhilarating, exciting, a very good read. It did feel like there were two stories the author kind of tried (and failed slightly) to turn into one big overarching story. But it was easier to read than the original Sir Arthur Conan Doyle canon, and I think it`s a good way to start at the Sherlock Holmes fandom.

 

 

So that`s it so far! Books next up include but are not limited to (in no particular order):
-The Elephant Keeper, by Christopher Nicholson
-The Book of Marvels (an explorer`s miscellany), by Mark Collins Jenkins
-Warm Bodies, by Isaac Marion
-A Game of Thrones (1), by George R.R. Martin

But knowing myself, I`ll just keep adding and changing books, so keep an eye out for what I`m reading over at Twitter and right here! 

If you made it until here, wow, I salute you. 

So if you`re here anyway, why not let me know in the comments if you`ve read any of these, if you`re planning to, what you thought of them, or of course if you have any other recommendations! I`m always open to suggestions. 

And then hopefully I`ll actually remember to do a better review next month!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 Books Challenge: end-of-March update

  1. Haha! Your comment on Les Mis reminded me so much of my own attempt to read War and Peace last year. I made it finally and even enjoyed it, but wow, it was hard work! I’m with you on the Wonderland books too – I never really ‘got’ them.

    • kojitmal says:

      Oh god War and Peace is on my to-read list. I have it here somewhere, but I`m kind of dreading it. But good to see I`m not the only one who sometimes goes “ugh” at long books or popular books!

Leave a Reply

